We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun fishing expedition”

Kaikoura Fishing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: kaikoura fishing tours! come and experience the fun of fishing while taking in the breath taking views of the kaikoura seaward mountains and if you are lucky you can catch a glimpse of the mighty humpback whale or the playful dusky dolphins,book today you will not be dissapointed.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Fun fishing expedition”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had a very enjoyable 3-hour trip with Kaikoura Fishing Tours on a warm sunny day. Because the fish are plentiful inshore very little time is spent travelling to and from the fishing grounds so three hours is plenty of time. Although the crayfish cages were teeming with crayfish when they were pulled up initially for us to set the bait (those crayfish were put back), we had a relatively meagre haul on the return journey (one cage caught conger eels instead!). Fortunately, we were able to grab one, which was more than enough to feed the two of us, along with some excellent sea perch (almost the only fish caught that day) and one blue cod that we cooked on the barbecue. The fish are expertly filleted, skinned and bagged on board, ready for cooking. There are a couple of restaurants in Kaikoura that will cook your fish if you don't have cooking facilities where you're staying.

We also saw a variety of seabirds including a Selwyn's Albatross and a Wandering Albatross. Warning: although it was a fine day, there was still a swell and one person was very seasick - so make sure to take anti-nausea pills before you go out.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank cleoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomokaikoura, Owner at Kaikoura Fishing Tours, responded to this review, 11 November 2014
Thanks Guys we deeply enjoyed your company on board the boat I am glad you enjoyed the trip
and it sounds like dinner was all worth it Thanks Tomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    6
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Always on the fish”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Tomo is a friendly guy who will always get you on the fish. I have been using him for the past 5 years and have always brought enough fish back to feed our group of 20. Awesome time!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomokaikoura, Owner at Kaikoura Fishing Tours, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Hey Noah cheers bro it is always a pleasure to have you and your clients on board .till next time take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metairie, Louisiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a Catch!”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I have never been a real fan of fishing, but did this with my wife. But mostly because I usually do not catch a lot of fish. Tomo took us out and we caught a large number of crayfish, 4 of which we got to keep and more perch than we could eat. It seemed every time my line hit the bottom I was reeling it back up. Great conversation, and he had us help with every measure of the crayfish pots. Also had an octopus climb onto our line.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomokaikoura, Owner at Kaikoura Fishing Tours, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Hi joe
I am glad to hear you guys enjoyed the trip it sounds like you may have caught the fishing buzz.
You are more than welcome to come join us again if you feel the need to catch a fish or 10
Thanks Tomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We were so lucky to have a nice weather that day and got lucky by just putting the bait into the sea. Wee are loaded with fish back for dinner and set the rest free. We did actually catch three baby sharks! Their eyes are green! Amazing! But the day before kaikoura was hit by a storm, the lobster were usually avoiding the flux area. We didn't get a lobster. A little bit disappointed but still so Dhaka about what we have got. The sea got rough a little from time to time but you will be fine. Our caption Pete is very friendly. We enjoyed it very much! Definitely a must go!

Helpful?
Thank Jadoreca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Awesome day out”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Had an awesome day fishing with Tomo and his deckhand Spencer. They were friendly, knowledgable and we caught heaps of fish; could barely keep a sinker on the ocean floor for more than 30 seconds without a bite. Would recommend it to anyone whom wants a great day out on the water.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank StevenP978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomokaikoura, Owner at Kaikoura Fishing Tours, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
hey bro no worries it was a pleasure to have you on board thanks Tomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kaikoura Fishing Tours also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Kaikoura Fishing Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing