We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and relaxed”
Review of Fish Tank Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fish Tank Lodge
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Excellent hostel - fantastic for getting buses! Intercity stops literally right outside the hostel, so if you've got a lot of luggage it's really convenient. Beds very comfortable - rooms on the small side perhaps, but had a bathroom attached to ours which we could lock, so was practically en suite! Decor fun, atmosphere great, and Nathan at the desk was incredibly helpful, spent so long with me discussing tour/trip options! Lovely place, very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJD24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2011

This place was my first accomodation in NZ and was my favorite of all. It is right in town, has lovely views of the ocean and great kitchen and relaxing space. It was so clean.

Recommend highly

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The place was clean, well located on the water and a short walk to restaurants, bars and the rest of Kaikoura town. The staff was super friendly and helpful and had great recommendations for restaurants and activities. Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Pushy, judgmental, racist staff.
Bunk beds have no rails at side - not safe at top if not a still sleeper. Room right next to kitchen: very loud - didn't get much sleep :(
But very angry with service from staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bp2856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orrsim, General Manager at Fish Tank Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

I am very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us bp2856. I am very surprised to read your comments. Here at Fish Tank Lodge we pride ourselves with our excellent customer service standards and have never heard such a review.
If you were that unhappy, is there a reason you did not come to discuss the matter and give us a chance to rectify the situation? I can assure you our staff are incredibly well trained and supervised during their work. We do not employ racist, un welcoming, un friendly staff. You make some serious accusations, i encourage more detail from you please. Please contact me directly at stay@fishtanklodge.co.nz to discuss your issues further. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

After travelling for 10 days in the South Island, it was easily decided that our favourite & highly recommended place to stay was the Fish Tank. Nathan who runs this place was truly a gem.. helpful, informative, & most welcoming. 5 Star quality - clean, stunning location, with a feel at home atmosphere! This place rocks!! I'll be informing everyone I know that is choosing to travel to the Sth Is, that they need to stay here! Thanks Fish Tank (Nathan) :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

To be honest I was slightly dreading the whole hostel experience (I know, I know) and my dread was completely unfounded. This place was a little gem - clean and comfortable and with an extremely helpful owner. We hoped to go whale watching the morning after we arrived and because the boats hadn't gone out the day before the morning cruise was booked up - it didn't matter though because the owner was onhand to get in touch with his mate who did sea kayaking tours and we were booked on that instead in no time (brilliant, by the way - one of the trip highlights). 5 star service for 2 star prices - bargain!

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Jenny81London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Excellent hostel in the centre of Kaikoura, with a fantastic balcony overlooking the sea. Clean rooms and a very friendly and helpful owner.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazSinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan S, Manager at Fish Tank Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

Great response thank you! Glad you had a wonderful stay, hope to see you back again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.5 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
1 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish Tank Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish Tank Lodge

Address: 86 West End, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Kaikoura with uninterrupted views of the ocean and mountains is the cosy Fish Tank Lodge. Beds are seriously comfortable with crisp clean linen already made up for you and the national buses stop right outside the front door. The kitchen is fully equipped and the lounge warm and cosy with some awesome artwork which is a must see! Feel right at home here with free tea and coffee and a warm kiwi welcome to Kaikoura. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing