We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hostel in a great location”
Review of Fish Tank Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fish Tank Lodge
manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hostel in a great location”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This hostel is one of the best in New Zealand. It's really cosy and homely and is a great place to meet new people. The whole hostel is spotless. The TV lounge is great on a rainy day as is the balcony on a sunny day. The staff are really friendly and made me feel very welcome. I would recommend Fish Tank Lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiki30Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    39
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
5
29
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My friends and I stayed here for one night as we passed through Kaikoura.
The staff were all very nice, the rooms clean and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Myself and my partner stayed at Fish Tank Lodge for 2 nights in September. We absolutely loved the place. Beds were comfy, rooms were warm and the place has been decorated very creatively! Nathan - the owner - is a lovely guy and did all he could to accommodate us. His customer service skills could not be faulted and we felt like we had got to know him during our stay there. Would highly recommend this place for anyone staying in Kaikoura!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsjustmeandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay in Kaikoura. The owner, Nathan, embodies that wonderful Kiwi warmth and friendliness as does the rest of the staff. The rooms are all clean, the kitchen area is warm and inviting, and the rooms have fun, bright, cheerful murals all over. You can tell that the owner has put a lot of thought and effort into making it an inviting space for all. The location is great too, right on the main strip and easy to walk to shops and restaurants. This was my final destination on my trip to NZ and a great way to end the trip. Lovely!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed at the Fish Tank for 3 nights. The owner Nathan is really friendly and helpful. The dorms are good, well ventilated and have very stable wooden frame beds which means that if you have light sleep as I do you wont wake up every time the person sleeping I the upper bunk turns. The location is excellent, just in the middle of town and right in front of where the buses stop.

The only thing that could be improved are the bathrooms and toilets. They are unisex (just as many dorms so you don’t get much privacy) and the showers are smelly because they have no windows. But overall the place is great, clean and with a nice atmosphere. I would stay there again and recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mipontal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Most hostels offer the usual type of service that we have come to expect of backpacker hostels. Clean beds, kitchen, shared toilets. What has stood out here was the genuine service provided by the staff. We were really impressed by his warmth and friendliness in the few brief moments of contact.

It was a pity that kaikoura was raining in the days we were there but the high level of service provided certainly made my day and left my holiday in new zealand on a high note.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripp3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Excellent hostel - fantastic for getting buses! Intercity stops literally right outside the hostel, so if you've got a lot of luggage it's really convenient. Beds very comfortable - rooms on the small side perhaps, but had a bathroom attached to ours which we could lock, so was practically en suite! Decor fun, atmosphere great, and Nathan at the desk was incredibly helpful, spent so long with me discussing tour/trip options! Lovely place, very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJD24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.7 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
#15 of 36 in Kaikoura
182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
#8 of 36 in Kaikoura
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish Tank Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish Tank Lodge

Property: Fish Tank Lodge
Address: 86 West End, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Kaikoura with uninterrupted views of the ocean and mountains is the cosy Fish Tank Lodge. Beds are seriously comfortable with crisp clean linen already made up for you and the national buses stop right outside the front door. The kitchen is fully equipped and the lounge warm and cosy with some awesome artwork which is a must see! Feel right at home here with free tea and coffee and a warm kiwi welcome to Kaikoura. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Fish Tank Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing