We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely Five-Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kaikoura Firstlight Accommodation
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Definitely Five-Star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

My favorite B&B South Island. The room was very clean, modern and well appointed, gorgeous view of the mountains, ocean and quay. Murray and Tracy were very warm, friendly and helpful. I would like to go back and spend a week. Sunrise was magnificent. Lives up to it's name.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had a wonderful time here and didn't want to leave. We had a warm welcome from Murray on arrival, including freshly cooked crayfish! Nothing was too much trouble and we felt right at home. The unit was beautifully presented, warm and spotlessly clean. Bottles of good quality shampoo, conditioner, soap and body wash were provided. I would definitely stay here again and recommend unreservedly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spoll12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights. Really lovely friendly and attentive hosts, great modern comfortable and clean apartment with lovely mountain views in the main bedroom upstairs.
Great location on the peninsula and near to main town area.
Felt like a home from home.
Would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 29Jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at the first light for two nights in March 2013. The rooms are in the rear garden of the main/ owners house. Our room was a two floor, one bedroom new apartment. It was a great size, very clean and decorated beautifully and it was clear a lot of thought and care had gone into the apartment. There was free WiFi and parking outside of the apartment. The owners were lovely. Friendly, welcoming and helpful. The location was lovely, but we would have been lost without a car. My husband went fishing with the owner on the 'first light boat' which was reasonably priced, and I'm told it was a brilliant trip. They cameback and cooked their catch on the bbq. We also went kayaking and saw dolphins and seals, whi h we booked on bookme.co.nz. Amazing accommodation and location

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammerboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Imagine this: A lovely place with only two rooms on a quiet street perched high on a hill overlooking a vast sea; the view out the doorway a lovely garden with spectacular huge snow-covered mountains beyond; the view in the other direction, green hilltop with grazing sheep and deep blue ocean beyond. Story book stuff, huh? Too good to be true, correct? Well, welcome to FirstLight, a beautiful place with beautiful people in beautiful Kaikoura.

We were a bit nervous about this place at first. We are not bed-and-breakfast aficionados and, even knowing that this wasn’t actually a B&B, we didn’t know what to think about a two room “accommodation.” Well “no worries, mate” is what we found. Murray and Tracey could not have been nicer; the room was lovely and well appointed; and, the price compared to equally nice places we experienced in New Zealand was fantastic. We had planned to stay only one night and instead extended to two nights because we liked it (and Kaikoura) so much. If only we could have extended two months instead of two days, but alas, no.

The bed was great, bathroom luxurious, amenities complete. The room was a bit overly filled with furniture, but that really wasn’t much of a bother. All in all, we had a terrific time at FirstLight.
Travel tip: Proprietor Murray is a pilot who flies whale watching trips from the local airport and also charters fishing trips in his boat parked prominently in front of FirstLight. I’m sure that either of those options would be fun given Murray’s personality. We had pre-booked whale watching by boat and had a terrific time.

We highly recommend FirstLight! Beautiful! Don't miss Kaikoura and don't miss FirstLight.

Room Tip: Walk down to the seals habitat. You'll be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

An excellent place to stay, the owners are a extremely helpful and pleasant couple. Stayed here for two nights . Very ell appointed with all the facilities needed. I would have no hesitation in returning

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjohnharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We would recommend Firstlight to anyone wanting to spend time in Kaikoura. The room we stayed in was beautifully arranged with everything you would find in a 5 star hotel. The room was warm (our stay was in July in cold weather) and the atmosphere very relaxing; Murray and Tracey are fantastic hosts, and they recommended a great place for dinner! Can't wait to return and take a fishing trip with Murray soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrisArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.1 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
#2 of 36 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
6.1 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#13 of 36 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Firstlight Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Firstlight Accommodation

Property: Kaikoura Firstlight Accommodation
Address: 36 Ward Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kaikoura Firstlight Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing