We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meals.”
Review of Thai Siam Kaikoura

Thai Siam Kaikoura
Ranked #15 of 58 Restaurants in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are focused on serving Fresh and Delicious Thai Cuisine offering a range of dishes from all regions of Thailand. We offer an Extensive menu along with Great service and in comfortable and modern surroundings.
nelson
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely meals.”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Really enjoyed our meal here. Lovely vegetarian green curry and crispy fish salad. Loved the fried bananas in spring roll wrapper for dessert. All cooked by Thai chefs. Friendly service.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank traveller3212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    102
    36
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If that was authentic Thai then i'm an authentic Martian”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Once we'd hefted the gigantic menus around, (and avoided injuring each other as we turned them over ) we decided on a Seafood Tom Kha soup and Red Curry .
Despite the fact that we were in Kaikoura, there wasn't one piece of FRESH seafood in the soup, the veges were cabbage and large chunks of onion. I make better Tom Kha at home .

The Red Curry was sweet ( too sweet) and despite asking for a HOT curry we were given a very ( very ) mild one .When we ordered the curry we were asked " would you like rice with that ?" .
We had to pay an extra $2.50 for the rice - that's a first for us !

The restaurant had about 4 other people in it - large TV screens everywhere ( please , no ! ) and didn't feel at all "Thai " .
We told the woman at the till that we were unhappy with our meal and were met with a shrug and " sorry about that " .
So were we.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“love the food here”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The food here is excellent such amazing meals, I have been to thai siam lots of times and each time the food is great the service is good too :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Love this place”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My mum and I we arrived in Kaikoura a bit late.
This restaurant was great provided the food that we want exactly!
Also give us extra chilli power for free as we are doing take away.
The taste is also awesome.
Highly recommend!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hui Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The lunch menu is not very elaborate, however food quality was good. The service seemed a wee bit slow, the hotel could not serve us a beer cause the owner has gone out with the key to the place where the drinks were kept to....."relieve himself"...as articulated by the person who was serving us. Not sure what kind of relieving was this.... We were in the place for approx 45 min to an hour... No beer came.

That should not be a reason to not visit the place, might have been just one of those days when god did not want me to have a beer during lunch. The food was good and enjoyed by kids as well as adults !

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1970nshukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Siam Kaikoura also viewed

 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Thai Siam Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing