We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing place to stay”
Review of Waikene Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waikene Lodge
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed here to break up our journey travelling south. Unfortunately we hadn't realised it was as far out of Kaikoura as it was. (about 20km - our fault for not double checking) However, this place is gorgeous. The fittings, the ambiance and the location are just fabulous. The view from the rooms is beautiful. If we'd realised where it was before we arrived we would have filled up with petrol in Kaikoura before we progressed there as we then had to travel back to Kaikoura to fill up before proceeding south. (We ended up almost passing the lodge on our way as we were advised to take the Inland Kaikoura Road rather than the coast as it was much more scenic). If the weather is good this is a wonderful drive through the mountains.
We had an excellent nights sleep and a very filling continental breakfast. Our hosts were lovely and I got to see the calves being fed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolly070759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2013

A great place for all ages! We were made to feel very relaxed and at home,the manager Joy goes that extra mile to make sure of this. We had portacot,buggy,walker and toys provided which was a lovely surprise. It was so lovely and hot,we even got to sunbathe We will be sure to go back with mountain bikes, friends and family.definately worth the trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Took the inlaws for a night away.You could not ask for a nicer place to stay and be looked after.We struck a beautiful night to enjoy the magnificent surroundings,although it wouldve been just as enjoyable if the weather was horrible and we spent the evening by the fire.Cant fault anything and can only reccomend to anyone looking for a fantastic escape.Only downside was we didnt book for two nights.The time went to quickly,but alas we shall return.A big thank you to Joy on making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This is the kind of place that you want to be snowed in for a few nights over Winter. The lodge is perfectly sited and captures the exceptional view of the Kaikoura's across the valley.

It’s well signposted and is about 5 minutes’ drive from the highway up a metalled road.

The room was thoughtfully equipped with tasteful amenities, the fittings and furnishings were of a very high standard. Absolutely loved the spa bath in the room, the bathroom also has a shower cubicle with surprisingly powerful water pressure. All the standard items were available (hairdryer, tea and coffee facilities, toiletries, Wi-Fi, TV, etc.), the common area is around the picturesque fireplace, dining tables and bar.

Continental breakfast was an unexpected surprise, one that was taken on the deck.

Joy was very friendly and accommodating, recommend that you stay longer than 1 night and perhaps take a book and bottle of wine for when you relax outside and watch the sun paint the hills different shades as it sets.

Stayed: November 2012
Thank flyingdutchdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

A booked the lodge on Grabone so wasnt sure what to expect, but it far exeeded our expectations in every way. From the "little touches' in the room (fresh flowers, welcome notes) to the lovely big bed and great furnishings, the lodge was everything we could want. The views and surroundings are magnificent, and Joy was the perfect hostess. We so enjoyed our time, and hope to see Joy again soon.
The trip up fromthe main road is furtherer than we thought (20-25km) so dont expect to get there too soon.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, but you may be best with 1 or 4 as they arre furtherest from the lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We arrived with the last of the spring light disapearing behind the hills. We were met by Joy who had just set the magnificent fire alight, it provided the perfect way to relax after the drive down. The lodge has everything you need to make yourself comfortable & your room has a great view to wake up to in the morning. Breakfast was good & set us up for the day. Our stay was too short & return visit to head into the hills is definitely something for the future.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would provide a great experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

A beautiful lodge tucked away from the hustle and bustle. The scenery and idyllic surroundings were beautiful. Warm fire, great breakfasts, home cooked dinner and great company. The rooms were immaculate and tastefully decorated. Plenty of walks to do or just chill out. Our host Joy made us feel very welcome and gave us lots of laughs. This a place that would be equally inviting at any time of the year. A place for all seasons.

Room Tip: Our room had a spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
11.8 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
11.5 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
11.9 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
12.1 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#12 of 20 in Kaikoura
115 reviews
11.9 mi away
Seaview Motel
Seaview Motel
#16 of 32 in Kaikoura
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikene Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikene Lodge

Address: 243 Scotts Road | Rd3, Kaikoura 7373, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range: £84 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waikene Lodge is a rural retreat on 2200ha of rugged farm land, nestled between the Inland and Seaward Kaikoura Ranges. Alpine Pacific Triangle. Extensive tracks suitable for tramping and mountain biking. All rooms are spacious with en-suite bathrooms (3 with spa bath). Unsurpassed views of snow-capped mountains. Camping facilities also available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing