We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JOYFUL”
Review of Waikene Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waikene Lodge
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“JOYFUL”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Visiting Waikene lodge to seek a relaxing space to recharge myself.
The view is brilliant.
Great accessibility make it easier for us.
There are lots to explore in the working farm itself.
It's great hide-away from rat race.

Please come and see Joy.

:)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EagleYks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Great camping place, fully equiped, welcoming, soo quiet and peacefull! The Kaikouri camping sites near the sea were much too close to the road, too noisy. We were so happy we took the 20 km road and found this place where the sunset set the mountains on fire...

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Els K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2013

An anniversary treat. Beautiful accomodation in tranquil location. Very clean, comfortable room with tea and coffee making facility, sky TV and spa bath. Lovely view across pristine lawn to farmland and snow-capped mountains. Luxurious lounge with huge open fire, music system and well equipped kitchen. Good breakfast provided with full selection of teas and coffee. There are good, mapped walks around the property (5,500 acres). We walked for 5 hours across farmland up to a self-contained hut where we had a hot brew and back through forest and multiple stream crossings (good boots advised). It was great!!! The hosts, Joy and Ross are lovely and will help with anything. Waikene is about 20 mins from Kaikoura so better to plan to be self-catering. We will be back! Gill & Steve, Christchurch

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gilli100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We arrived after dark and found Waikene Lodge at the end of Scotts Road. We were met by Ross and Joy and were shown the lodges’ facilities by Joy and then left to relax for the evening. When we woke in the morning we were treated to a spectacular sunrise and view of the snow-capped mountains, with native birdsong as a morning chorus. Waikene Lodge is a great place to relax and re-charge your batteries. We spent 2 nights here and could have spent much longer. The rooms are spacious and spotless with Sky TV if you want it. The communal lounge with its large log fire is perfect to relax in to enjoy a glass of wine and a good book. Evening meals are no longer an option but you have the use of a fully equipped kitchen. The continental breakfast and percolated coffee was wonderful. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Beautiful picturesque surroundings, fantastic host, amazing rooms with spectacular views, peace quiet and tranquility....a fantastic stay, if we had know it was going to be this good we would have booked for longer! Ive stayed in many hotels and lodges around NZ and this is by far one of the best, not to be missed :) Dan and Aimee (Manchester UK).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannyboy78_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed here to break up our journey travelling south. Unfortunately we hadn't realised it was as far out of Kaikoura as it was. (about 20km - our fault for not double checking) However, this place is gorgeous. The fittings, the ambiance and the location are just fabulous. The view from the rooms is beautiful. If we'd realised where it was before we arrived we would have filled up with petrol in Kaikoura before we progressed there as we then had to travel back to Kaikoura to fill up before proceeding south. (We ended up almost passing the lodge on our way as we were advised to take the Inland Kaikoura Road rather than the coast as it was much more scenic). If the weather is good this is a wonderful drive through the mountains.
We had an excellent nights sleep and a very filling continental breakfast. Our hosts were lovely and I got to see the calves being fed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolly070759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2013

A great place for all ages! We were made to feel very relaxed and at home,the manager Joy goes that extra mile to make sure of this. We had portacot,buggy,walker and toys provided which was a lovely surprise. It was so lovely and hot,we even got to sunbathe We will be sure to go back with mountain bikes, friends and family.definately worth the trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
11.7 mi away
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
#2 of 36 in Kaikoura
205 reviews
11.8 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
11.5 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
11.6 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#13 of 36 in Kaikoura
39 reviews
11.9 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikene Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikene Lodge

Property: Waikene Lodge
Address: 243 Scotts Road | Rd3, Kaikoura 7373, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waikene Lodge is a rural retreat on 2200ha of rugged farm land, nestled between the Inland and Seaward Kaikoura Ranges. Alpine Pacific Triangle. Extensive tracks suitable for tramping and mountain biking. All rooms are spacious with en-suite bathrooms (3 with spa bath). Unsurpassed views of snow-capped mountains. Camping facilities also available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing