We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Baby seals”
Review of Ohau Stream Walk

Ohau Stream Walk
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Always check the website for changes that might affect your trip.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Baby seals”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Went back again the next day, it was enchanting, not easy to find if you are coming from the kaikoura side, look for the "Min Van" if you are arriving via picton, the sign is easy to spot, lots of parking

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,121
    210
    71
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Must While In Kaikoura!!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Unfortunate for those who do not visit in the Winter, this is one of the most amazing things my wife and I have ever done! Seal pups playing along a stream and in a waterfall pool - really!? It's free, the seal pups are lively and everywhere, and the whole thing is just surreal.

Do this!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank beardedbaddorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It is full of cuteness.”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We drove up to the seal pup waterfall. The car park is right off the highway and then it is a 10 minute walk with seal pups all the way. It is free to visit and so worth it. The amount of seal pups being seal pups under the waterfall at the end is mind blowing. You could spend quite a while enjoying nature at it's best. It was a bit cool but jumpers solved that problem and it was early morning and the place has lots of trees. A must.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Must see if you are driving past!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

If your driving past here you have to stop and see the beautiful seals. We stopped here in June with a 10 month old (very short walk, no pram). Amazing. Saw dozens of seals lots of nice close up photo opportunities as well as some are often on the walkways. Take the camera!

Helpful?
2 Thank SherifMansour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“YOU HAVE TO DO THIS!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Visiting Ohau Falls to see the seal pups was hands down one of the coolest things on my South Island trip! The weather while I was there was absolutely miserable with heaps of rain, but my brother and I still did the walk up to the falls. You hardly even notice that you are surrounded by seal pups along the walk. When we got to the falls, it took my breath away to see all the pups playing and splashing in the water. One cheeky little pup starting chasing my brother and I almost all the way back to the car park. We could not stop laughing. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone who is traveling in the Kaikoura region.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bethyb183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ohau Stream Walk also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Ohau Stream Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing