We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Service”
Review of Passione Italian Restaurant - CLOSED

Passione Italian Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Blenheim
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had Marinara Pizza and the pasta of the day which was saffron pasta with prawns. Both dishes were delicious and although the pizza looked huge the base is very thin and crispy so not too filling one of the best I have tried.

Can't fault the service, the staff were very attentive, polite and prompt.

My only little negative was that the restaurant wasn't very cosy, the ceilings are high, floors wooden and noisy and the walls white so a bit stark, lots of bright lighting.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayneBlenheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    54
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in 14 visits to New Zealand”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We live in France and spend quite a lot of time in Italy - wonderful thin pizzas available in both places, normally cooked in wood-fired ovens.

We are just coming to the end of our 14th and, sadly, last visit to New Zealand. All but one of those visits have lasted for 3 months. Clearly we love NZ but, as people who like to get a decent pizza once a week or so, we have been gravely disappointed in that regard. It is very difficult to find a decent pizza in this country. The bases are usually pastry, are very poor, and are sometimes inedible.

So what a delight to find Passione, in Kaikoura. The pizzas were not only the best we have ever had, by a huge margin, in New Zealand - they were the best pizzas we have had anywhere - France and Italy included, for several years.

Passione is THE place to go for a pizza in New Zealand. All the other food we could see also looked excellent. The service was friendly and efficient.

We can't recommend it enough.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vicngay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best pizza”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Cracking pizza here and large enough for the two of us to share and have a pudding too. The wine by the glass, Pinot Gris, was excellent.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trier2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, England
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The best Italian we visited in NZ”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The food was wonderful! Cannot say any more except that we would definitely return to Passione again if we are ever in Kaikoura.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SussieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mouthwatering”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Loved everything about this restaurant. Gorgeous food, friendly and efficient staff, lovely ambiance.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ThomondFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Passione Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing