We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular location but dated furnishings”
Review of Panorama Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Panorama Motel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular location but dated furnishings”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The Panorama motel would suit people looking to stay in an amazing beach-front location and who don't mind a slightly dated, average-level property.

The property is about 20 m from the high-tide sea level and you can hear the waves lapping on the beach from the room through the day and night.

Request a room on the upper floor if you can - you'll have your own private (small-ish) balcony and less noise. It's only an extra $10. There's plenty of car parking. It's about a half hour+ walk from the train station (if you know your way).

The kitchen in the room was adequately equipped for two people.

As others have noted, there was a bit of a musty old smell to the rooms on arrival, but we left the doors open a while and soon didn't notice it. (It isn't a noxious or toilets, just an 'old' smell - perhaps from the formica kitchen top.)

The Panorama is well rated in the Rough Guide to NZ.

PS. For a good pub or meal, ask about the Pier Hotel and the (fine-dining) Green Dolphin restaurant about 5-10 mins walk away. The seal colony is a further 15-20 mins walk beyond there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiEd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panokaik, Owner at Panorama Motel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a reveiw, we trust that you enjoyed your stay in NZ and Kaikoura. We would like to address a couple of issues that you have raised in your review, firstly the smell, we have recently replaced the carpets and their is a slight new smell when the unit has been closed off and the kitchen benchs are all stainless steel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    76
    34
    5
    7
See reviews for
41
97
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2012

My wife & I have stayed here a couple of times now & we alway look forward to returning for some R&R. Highly recommended. Views of the water & Seaward Kaikoura mountains just the best.

Room Tip: Upstairs if possible & the new end. Although a little more cost but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panokaik, Owner at Panorama Motel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for your reveiw, we appreciate what you have said and are pleased to have had you spend your R &R days with us, looking forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This is a nice fairly basic motel with great sea and mountain views. The owners are helpful and friendly and although it is on a main road it was very peaceful and quiet

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panokaik, Owner at Panorama Motel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post a review for Panorama, we would like to point out though that we are not on the main rd (state highway 1/ Beach rd) but on the Esplanade which is why the road is quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The Panorama motel is well named. The veiws from the upstairs room we booked are stunning. Across the water of the bay, to the township of Kaikoura, to the mountains looming behind coming almost down to the sea. Ducks were playing in the sea and small waves broke against the rocks in the bay. So peaceful, so awesome.
Basics - the bed is big and comfortable, all the kitchen necessities are there, and the bathroom is good and the unit clean and tidy. But the scenery is the selling point. This motel must have the best views in Kaikoura. And best of all, even though the room is on the 2nd floor, there is a ramp at the rear to an upper parking area so we could park our car on the same level as the motel. No lugging bags up stairs.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panokaik, Owner at Panorama Motel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you Mary, we hope that the rest of your trip was equally spectacular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2012

dearer than expected but fantastic view of the mountains across the sea, close to restruants and pubs. old but clean and tidy

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billandjacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panokaik, Owner at Panorama Motel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for your reveiw, hope you had a fabulous time in NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My wife and I spent six fabulous days at this superb motel. Without question, it has the very best location of all accommodations in the area, giving the most stunning views of the Seaward Kaikoura Mountains. Our first-floor unit was spotlessly clean and tidy and had what we needed to do all our own cooking. And there was no better place to enjoy a meal than sitting on our own balcony overlooking the sea. This was especially enjoyable at dinnertime, with a glass of wine, watching the seabirds. The friendly staff were very helpful, answering our questions and giving advice on everything, from the best place to shop for fresh fish, to where to see fossils in the rocks. We wouldn’t want to stay anywhere else in Kaikoura than at the Panorama Motel.
Period of stay Feb. 14-19
Chris McGowan

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room which had a perfect seaview, with a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panokaik, Owner at Panorama Motel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thanks Chris,a remember well our chats and hopefully we will see you again one day. You are a great couple and we expect that you had an amazing time in NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I stayed a couple of night here to whale watch and take a couple of hikes. I didn't pre-book and got $10/night when checking in. The best thing about this motel is the view - utterly fantastic. The room itself was a disappointment. The furnishings are dated and there was a funky smell that I couldn't get rid of by leaving the doors open. The towels were worn and the only motel that didn't wash the dishes (I only used a cup and plate) daily. The service at the front desk, however, was great as they help me book my whale watch tour as soon as I checked in. Mixed review as the service and view were excellent, but the room itself needs some work.

Room Tip: All rooms that I could see have a view of the water and mountains. I was on the lower floor and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tazcatrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panokaik, Owner at Panorama Motel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
We are sorry that we didnt met your expectations but hopefully you enjoyed your time in NZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.8 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#13 of 20 in Kaikoura
110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
1.2 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Motel

Property: Panorama Motel
Address: 266 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Panorama Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Kaikoura
Panorama Motel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing