We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great views”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Panorama Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Panorama Motel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great views”
Reviewed 8 September 2007

Firstly the hotel has great views and although next to the road so are many - but being at the end of the esplanade this was not busy. The accomodation is basic and based on wood hut sauna type construction. This led to noise from neighbours carrying through the floor and walls and I wouldn't want to stay if they were full up. Parking at the back of your unit and friendly staff, parrot ,cats and dogs. Basic shower, kitchen and bathroom.

The Anchor down the road looked well placed and just as good views but slightly more substantial build.

The end of the road car park was fantastic and we found seals sleeping in the hedge rows by the road side after taking the long bracing hill top walk and seeing their specks on the rocks. Definately binoculars needed on the cliffs.

Took the whale boat trip. Be warned - we saw 5 sperm whales and plenty of birds and seals which was fantastic but sea state was a small 1 metre swell and 35% of the boat were sea sick and throwing up within minutes and didnt move from their seats. It must be hell on the boat when the sea is rough as you sit inside and speed to the next sighting before being allowed up to watch.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank watchitLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    76
    34
    5
    7
See reviews for
41
96
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2007

We stayed for one night in Kaikoura in April. We arrived without a booking but already knew what the rates were having previously contacted several properties re:availability. We went to the front desk and were allowed to see the room before we booked it for the night. It's nothing fancy, but the views were spectacular. Based on their location, I think the view may be better from Panorama than from the Anchor Motor Inn down the street. If we were staying for several nights, we may have chosen a different location, but for one night, it was just fine.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — tiny tiny shower
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central scotland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2007

We stayed two nights here in a second floor room, which in spite of the rain, provided a truly relaxing view of the water (we never saw the hills due to mist). Its location at the end of the esplanade meant that it was quiet. It was also within walking distance of the Green Dolphin restaurant (pleasant but with very slow service) and the fresh fish stall near the pier - our best meal was fresh fish cooked on the hotel's barbecue and eaten by the picture window, the balcony being out of bounds due to rain. This hotel provides good value, the staff are helpful and friendly, though I agree about the internet facilities: this was the most expensive place to go on line that we experienced on our trip. We would certainly stay here again if we were ever back in this area.

  • Liked — location and outlook
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank malc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California foothills
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2007

The motel was just a little past the main part of town down the peninsula. We had a second floor unit and had a great view of the bay. We could park the car up the hill right in back of our unit. The hostess was very accomodating. I think it was above average for the price range.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank Webplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2007

Panorama Inn, Kaikoura, South Island, NZ

Kaikura Penninsula and town is a tourist haven, promoted heavily as an eco-mecca. There are plenty of activities here such as whale-watching cruises, swimming with dolphins, fishing, kayaking, diving, ATV tours, birding, hiking and much more. The visitor center is a cornucopia of things to do and ways to spend money. The tours are pricey, $ 100-150 for a 2-3 hour whale-watch tour with 20-50 others, where you may, or may not, spot a whale.(partial refund if not). You can watch a sheep shearing show for $ 10 each, feed farm animals for $ 20 each, or even watch a promotional video projection at the visitor’s center for $ 3 each (all in NZD). The primary business of the visitors information center seems to be to sell tours, and even now in the early start of the tourist business, they were bustling, with people waiting in line to buy.

We decided not to do any of the activities, based on the hype, the belief that we would be disappointed and the cost. We are just not that kind of tourist. I hope that for others it was worthwhile.

The Panorama Inn has a lovely location, separated from the water by only the road and a thin strip of lawn and trees. From our second-floor room, the view was perfect (for us, perfect requires a close water view, the sound of birds and surf). Our room had a solid wall of glass facing the ocean, a love seat which we moved to the view spot, a small balcony with a couple of plastic chairs, and an efficient mini-kitchen. The interior has a pleasant type of (laminated) logs, giving a knotty pine look. The bed is comfortable and there is even an electric wall heater.

The bare overhead lightbulbs are kind of a turn-off, the only lamps are workable reading lights over the bed. The walls could stand some paintings or decoration and the room could be improved by some portable lamps.

Wireless Broadband Internet Service is available, as advertised, but - at rip-off prices. It would cost this hotel about $ 1-2 per day to provide HS WiFi to every room. But instead they signed up with SurfSpot which advertises that they can provide the hotel an additional income stream from guests for this add-on service. SS charges, by scratch-off cards at $ 10 per hour or credit card account at $ 8 per hour NZD. That is the most expensive wireless broadband service I have ever seen; call it rip-off prices. And, it’s really not that fast!

There is a lovely “park” at the end of the road the Inn is on, with tide-pools and seal rocks. As a tourist town, there is a plethora of restaurants of all types. If you want to avoid the tourist crowds, try the Pier Hotel, a short distance from the Inn, towards the docks. Slow service, average prices, but excellent food.

  • Liked — Great view of the bay across the road.
  • Disliked — Lighting in room
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a room in the new building.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Travlin22006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2006

We chose this hotel from the dreaded Lonely Planet. We found it fairly easily, but it sits right on a main road so the noise form the cars is bad as and when they go past (though it is also true to say most the hotels in Kaikura share the same problem as they nealry all sit on the main road). The hotel is 2 levels, so make sure you get a second floor room, as the view is better and you are further away from the road. Our room was of a good size, with a kitchenette with an electric hob, and a tiny plastic bathroom which was a bit odd but everything worked. The hotel is a good walk outside the main "town centre", such that it is, and about 10 mins walk from the Dolphin Centre (the dolphin swimming is fantastic by the way).

As for the Panorama, it was absolutely fine, but nothing special.

  • Liked — View, balcony, decent sized room
  • Disliked — too far away from the centre
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teutonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch, nz
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2006

Having been to Kaikoura before and stayed on Beach Road (a misnomer - it's actually State Highway 1) we had decided on the Panorama for our next visit. All rooms have a wonderful view of the seaward Kaikoura range and the bay. Our first floor 2-bed apartment was small but perfectly formed with a nice long balcony on which to admire those views and look out for dolphins. The motel is away from the main part of town but this makes it nice and quiet, and it's still near enough to walk into the centre.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank saintsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.8 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
109 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
411 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Motel

Property: Panorama Motel
Address: 266 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Panorama Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Kaikoura
Panorama Motel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing