We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT!!!”

Lavendyl Lavender Farm
Ranked #13 of 38 things to do in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“PERFECT!!!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We first stayed at Lavendyl 4 years ago in the Mahoe Cottage and have been coming back ever since for weekend getaways. This is the most serene, relaxing experience all set in the stunning picturesque gardens. Jan and Corry are incredibly hospitable and Corry makes the most beautiful baking, thank you! Every visit is perfect - thank you. We can't recommend Lavendyl and the Dylan Cottages enough.
Warm Regards
Kylie & Glen

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    32
    13
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Good varieties of Lavender products”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We were there at the wrong period therefore did not get to see any lavender blooming. You need to pay a fee to enter the garden. We took a peek from outside and decided not to enter since there is no lavender flowers blooming yet. Nevertheless, their shop have a good varieties of products.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lpypeiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A perfect spot”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We have just spent two perfect days on the farm, it is an ideal base for the area being close to sea (whale watching at kaikoura), mountains (a brisk walk up mount Fyffe) and a lovely place to spend time. The accommodation is delightful and the grounds a joy to wander around.....so many plants to study. The lambs were fun and very vocal! We especially enjoyed the home baking...not good for the waistline though! We will be back soon.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Middleagedcouple25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great way to end the day”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The smell of the fresh lavender from the gardens is over powering. I could not count the many different types of lavender. The gardens are large, well maintained. To sit and breathe in the fragrance is relaxing as only lavender can do. $2 each - good bargain. Then you have many lavender products in the shop including lavender ice cream. The setting at the foot of the mountains coupled with the lVender - very Therapeutic!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank im44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This place is absolutely wonderful! I loved staying here! the people that run it are amazing! the views of the mountains, the lavendar, the sheep, the vineyard, the mountains! WOnderful in summer or winter i recumbend this place to anyone and everyone! its like a heaven on earth! Truly spectacular!!!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lavendyl Lavender Farm also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Lavendyl Lavender Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing