We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kaikoura Peketa Beach Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed here in our camper last night actually, it was awesome. We got to pick our site so of course we picked one right by the beach. Pricier than I would have imagined considering it is out of town quite a bit, but still cheaper than the Top 10 where we normally stay. Toilets and showers were clean. Excellent rubbish and waste dumping facility. Cool playground, flying fox, boat swing, lots of beautiful trees everywhere. There is also mini golf! At the camp office there is a shop for supplies which is very reasonably priced, and you can order hot chips as well, which are deliciously cooked. We were very impressed with our stay here and will stay here again. Oh, another thing we loved is that there are heaps of picnic tables, enough for everyone, not like other places that are a bit stingy with them.

Room Tip: Any site by the beach is nice. Ask for one near the trees for the shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    34
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
42
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We travelled around the south island of NZ for five weeks in a camper and stayed at Peketa Beach for one night in October 2012. Our powered site cost $37 but we opted to upgrade for an additional $3 to have a beachside site and it was well worth it, as the views from our camper were stunning.

The facilities were clean and the site also had a flying fox for children (that my 28-year-old partner took quite a liking to!)

The only slight downside is that the site is so close to the main road, but this didn't bother us at night as the sound of the ocean drowned out any of the few cars that passed.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earls Colne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

This is a very large holiday park close to the beach. We had a powered campsite for one night and were able to choose our site, which was good.
The staff are friendly and there is a useful shop supplying everything you need, plus fresh chips to order!
The shower / toilet facilities are good and there is a washing machine, though no hairdryers are available.
Its a good site but the site rules seem to be easily broken and not enforced....such as quad bikes racing around, camp fires being lit etc etc.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I stayed one night in a tent. I hadn't booked but the staff were very welcoming and gave me a few options as to where I could pitch my tent. It was the night before New Year's Eve so it was pretty busy but there were adequate facilities for everyone. The kitchen facilities were spotlessly clean and checked regularly.
The hot water in the showers was on a timer outside the door which was a little awkward to use but it ensured that nobody hogged the showers and the showers were free. There is a shop on the site.
I was travelling alone but there were lots of families having a great time.The staff are very friendly.
The holiday park is right on the beach and the sunset was just beautiful. Definitely worth checking out.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyttelton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

This is one of the best camping grounds we have used. It is professionally run, and all the facilities are always spotlessly clean. Free hot showers. Dog-friendly is a plus. Right on the beach so wake to the sound of the sea and enjoy fabulous views from the beach front sites. About 8km south of Kaikoura township only a few minutes drive. There is a small shop at the camp for basic needs. Friendly and efficient service. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankiethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Great location right on the beach south of Kaikoura. Stayed here for one night with camper van backed into site facing beach and next to amenities. Shame it was raining as would have been great to eat outside at little picnic table next to camper. Very clean amenities with coded lock for showers-perhaps to stop freeloaders using them. Hot free showers were fantastic as was the music playing in them. Used the laundry for reasonable cost but bring own washing powder. This looks a great family run camp and would be great in warmer months so you could take full advantage of their facilities.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

We have camped here for many years and have watched this camp ground develop into the wonderful place it is today. The facilities are kept so clean and to me that is a must have!! Impressed with the liquid soap now in the loos.. So essential these days. The fact of the beach so close plus the river which most summers u can swim in. The sea no but great for fishing! I would highly recounts this holiday park to every tourist
.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elyarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
4.9 mi away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
4.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
4.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
7.3 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#13 of 36 in Kaikoura
39 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Peketa Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Peketa Beach Holiday Park

Property: Kaikoura Peketa Beach Holiday Park
Address: SH 1 | 7 km Sth of Kaikoura, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing