We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kaikoura Peketa Beach Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My partner and I spent 3 nights at this camp and were impressed with the atmosphere, the location and the very clean facilities in the showers, toilets and laundry. We received a wonderful welcome from the manager and all other staff around the camp and were given clear directions and helpful tips for our stay. We had a fantastic site in our bus which afforded privacy and plenty of space to relax. The shop on site had good practical stock, the ice-creams with fresh fruit whizzed in a blender were to die for and the mini golf was a great attraction. A recommended place to stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    34
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
42
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
279 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This popular holiday park is 10 km south of Kaikoura right by the beach and a great place for people of all ages. Our kids had a great time - flying fox, swimming, volley ball, playground, miniput, fishing, bonfire etc. Older facilities but always spotless - showers are free with pushbuttom system and music. Well maintained grounds with both powered and unpowered sites. Small shop on site with cafe. Nice and friendly place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NZfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

This is in many ways a more basic site than some others billing themselves as Holiday Parks. But it was quite nice for that, with good sized and spaced pitches (esp compared to most Top 10 sites). We had a beachfront pitch and could step down to the spectacular beach and also hear the waves all night. Bliss!! There is a useful little shop on the site and the whole layout feels natural. The facilities are not fancy, just stainless steel sinks and no hairdriers, but they are clean. And what's more, every pitch has a picnic table. No fighting for one or having yours pinched while you are out, as on the Top 10 sites we have been to.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Adelai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

In quiet and uncrowded location, about 10Km south of Kaikoura (unlike Top10 site), off the highway. Power-sites and unpowered-sites are just meters from the beach. Good location for relaxation. Facilities are basic, particularly kitchen area. Price is at par with others, generally $30 to 42 throughout South Island. With lower rate, you can expect coin operated showers. All have coin-operated washer/dryer...a luxury for camping....a must for motorcycling and tenting.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apain_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed here in our camper last night actually, it was awesome. We got to pick our site so of course we picked one right by the beach. Pricier than I would have imagined considering it is out of town quite a bit, but still cheaper than the Top 10 where we normally stay. Toilets and showers were clean. Excellent rubbish and waste dumping facility. Cool playground, flying fox, boat swing, lots of beautiful trees everywhere. There is also mini golf! At the camp office there is a shop for supplies which is very reasonably priced, and you can order hot chips as well, which are deliciously cooked. We were very impressed with our stay here and will stay here again. Oh, another thing we loved is that there are heaps of picnic tables, enough for everyone, not like other places that are a bit stingy with them.

Room Tip: Any site by the beach is nice. Ask for one near the trees for the shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We travelled around the south island of NZ for five weeks in a camper and stayed at Peketa Beach for one night in October 2012. Our powered site cost $37 but we opted to upgrade for an additional $3 to have a beachside site and it was well worth it, as the views from our camper were stunning.

The facilities were clean and the site also had a flying fox for children (that my 28-year-old partner took quite a liking to!)

The only slight downside is that the site is so close to the main road, but this didn't bother us at night as the sound of the ocean drowned out any of the few cars that passed.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earls Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

This is a very large holiday park close to the beach. We had a powered campsite for one night and were able to choose our site, which was good.
The staff are friendly and there is a useful shop supplying everything you need, plus fresh chips to order!
The shower / toilet facilities are good and there is a washing machine, though no hairdryers are available.
Its a good site but the site rules seem to be easily broken and not enforced....such as quad bikes racing around, camp fires being lit etc etc.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
4.8 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
4.9 mi away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
4.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
#14 of 36 in Kaikoura
181 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
5.5 mi away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#8 of 20 in Kaikoura
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Peketa Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Peketa Beach Holiday Park

Property: Kaikoura Peketa Beach Holiday Park
Address: SH 1 | 7 km Sth of Kaikoura, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing