We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT WHAT IT SEEMS”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kaikoura Peketa Beach Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Forget that prospect of an idyllic stay by the sea. The reality is that anybody feels free to wander through your site and we even had people come and sit at our table! Add to that aggressive locals who resent the very presence of anybody not from New Zealand and your stay can be miserable. There are plenty of better sites elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milsonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

A great beach side Holiday Park 7km south of Kaikoura with plenty of room, 30 acres I understand. Some sites have concrete hard stands overlooking the sea, others secluded amongst trees. For an overnight stop between Picton and Christchurch this is a great place with all the necessary facilities.
We travelled with a Car & Caravan

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IansTrippings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Lovely campsite by the beach. Facilities were clean, showers were warm and management were friendly and helpful. Fantastic spot for seeing a Kaikoura sunrise and a few minutes drive to the town. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoupDLoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Booked a basic cabin, and that's what I got. The place appeared clean, but no linen or bed coverings were provided, with the exception of a sheet covering the bed. The room was absolutely freezing cold I had a miserable night there. The cabin was very small, but had a concrete floor and walls with door and windows that didn't seal properly so the room was absolutely freezing cold all night even in April, and the small heater never warmed the tiny room at all. I might as well have slept in my tent. If that wasn't bad enough, the cabin was advertised as being on the beach front, but they didn't mention that it was also directly adjacent to the highway too, with traffic noise including trucks passing right next to you all night. You also had to punch in a code to use the toilet block, in the dark - just what you need in the middle of the night. Service via email was non-existent, and only barely adequate by phone. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanderso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This site was lovely, right near the beach and we had a pitch under the trees. Pitches can be a little close together though. The kitchen was far too small to cater for the site, and the hobs were crap, and the showers/toilets are basic, but fine. It's 7km out of town so not ideal if you want to pop in and out of the site.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllieandAlexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is a great caravan park if u want to be away from town and right near the ocean
Great staff, fuit icecream made on the spot, WiFi $5 per 24 hours for 10gb
Also has a little shop and fishing rods for hire $10 a day
You do hear the occasional train and some traffic but the ocean is far louder.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Hawthorne4171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

It was our first time and first night being in a campervan for our month long trip. This site didn't disappoint. We had the beach front view equipped w a standard table and bench. The showers were great plus had clean toilets. Didn't purchase anything from the mini store, but it seems to be well equipped w cooking ingredients, meats, gas and toiletries.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank terence7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
1.6 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#13 of 20 in Kaikoura
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Peketa Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Peketa Beach Holiday Park

Address: SH 1 | 7 km Sth of Kaikoura, Kaikoura, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing