We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Admiral Court Motel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Great location a 5 minute drive to the high street, nice spacious room, all good with us! Stayed for 3 nights and it was very peaceful, plus the views are incredible. Thanks very much for the stay. :)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smallthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    49
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
51
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stopped here one night, following a flight into Christchurch and a drive of 190 kms (2.5 hours) up SH1. We found the property easily and check-in was fine. The accommodation itself was basic, functional, clean, comfy and peaceful, with double bed and lounge area - glad we didn't wish to self-cater as, like most motels we encountered in NZ, kitchen facilities generally means a sink, toaster and microwave!

The proprietors/managers were welcoming and friendly and were okay about allowing my wife to stay on until I got back from the Whale Watch trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

From the moment we arrived as a family of 4, including 2 under 5's we felt absolutely at home at Admiral Court.

Met by Roger who was great with both his welcome and tips for the area.

Although the accommodation is not 5* in the traditional sense it was absolutely 5* for us as a family. We were upgraded to a 2 bed apartment which was lovely and everything about the place was spot on. Spotlessly clean, plenty of room, free wi-fi, use of the laundry and so on. For the children a really nice little front garden with a swing and they ran around for more then an hour while we were able to sit and relax.

Great views of the mountains and probably a 10 minute or so walk to the town.

Top place, really nice people and a must if you are staying in Kaikoura.

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPAPKPMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Easy going, nice place in the right spot. LP recommended it and we totally 100% agree with it.
Walking distance form the seal colony and very good restaurant. A bit further out form the village which made it peaceful and nice. The free internet was very much appreciated. One of the few places that offered it really for free.
Only thing was the TV broke when we had a short storm and powercut. But things do happen and we just went to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchandKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingleton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Admiral Court was a good find. A nice room with plenty of space, clean, well furnished and a good bathroom. 1 minute from beach and very close to seal colony and a really nice cliff walk. Would choose to use it again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babsdranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We stayed at The Admiral Court motel Kaikoura overnight. We'd been upgraded to a very spacious two bedroomed unit which we discovered on arrival, if we'd known sooner all three of us could have used it and cancelled the studio for our friend. It's a lovely motel, clean, modern and bright, in a quiet place out of town - one of the best we stayed. One double bedroom and 1 twin room, plenty of storage/hanging space. Lounge area had 2 sofas, t.v with dvd player. Kitchen with microwave, hot plates, electric frypan, fridge, toaster and kettle (tea/coffee/biscuits etc.) Lovely shower room with separate w.c. Plenty of mirrors and a hairdryer. Heating and air-con. Wish we could have stayed here for the extra night in Kaikoura, a change to our plan after the earthquake as we decided not to do an overnight back in Christchurch before our flight home, but they were fully booked and can well understand why. If we return to South Island will definitely stay here again.

Dinner at The Green Dolphin, a seafood restaurant which prepared a gluten free meal for our friend.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazza-500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

The Admiral Court was a very pleasant place to stay. Rooms were spacious and clean and modern. Got a great nights rest. Staff friendly and welcoming. Free wifi. A very good value for money. Slightly away from the center of town so be prepared for a good walk or short drive.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backusmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#13 of 20 in Kaikoura
113 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
1.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Court Motel

Property: Admiral Court Motel
Address: 16 Avoca Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Admiral Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Admiral Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing