We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It suited us perfectly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Admiral Court Motel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It suited us perfectly”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Some might find the location a bit out of town but that is what we wanted. This area is quiter and a pleasant walk to the seals. Ideal to do the Peninusla Walkway. Roger was helpful and even offered to pick us up if we could not finish the walk. Room was spacious and everything we needed. The free wi fi connection worked well in unit 2 and was the main reason we selected this motel. We booked 3 nights and were given a $10 a night discount automatically and in the end stayed 4 nights. Pleasant views of the mountains and close to the sea.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scorpio111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    49
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
51
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We had great expectations of this small but welcoming motel. The room was clean and ideal. The location close to everything. We were happy indeed. Sadly the perfect one-night stop came to unfortunate situation. Prior to writing this review I wrote to the owners explaining about a rather noisy dog that was on the premises and that was keeping us awake throughout the night (and we had a 5am start the next day). The owners explained to us the whole situation in which we were satisfied with their explanation and they were extremely apologetic. I have still given this motel a very good rating as it simply is that. We were unfortunate that our memory of the stay is dampened by the dog incident but still recommend to stay here as the incident appears to be a one-off.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Great location a 5 minute drive to the high street, nice spacious room, all good with us! Stayed for 3 nights and it was very peaceful, plus the views are incredible. Thanks very much for the stay. :)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smallthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stopped here one night, following a flight into Christchurch and a drive of 190 kms (2.5 hours) up SH1. We found the property easily and check-in was fine. The accommodation itself was basic, functional, clean, comfy and peaceful, with double bed and lounge area - glad we didn't wish to self-cater as, like most motels we encountered in NZ, kitchen facilities generally means a sink, toaster and microwave!

The proprietors/managers were welcoming and friendly and were okay about allowing my wife to stay on until I got back from the Whale Watch trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

From the moment we arrived as a family of 4, including 2 under 5's we felt absolutely at home at Admiral Court.

Met by Roger who was great with both his welcome and tips for the area.

Although the accommodation is not 5* in the traditional sense it was absolutely 5* for us as a family. We were upgraded to a 2 bed apartment which was lovely and everything about the place was spot on. Spotlessly clean, plenty of room, free wi-fi, use of the laundry and so on. For the children a really nice little front garden with a swing and they ran around for more then an hour while we were able to sit and relax.

Great views of the mountains and probably a 10 minute or so walk to the town.

Top place, really nice people and a must if you are staying in Kaikoura.

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPAPKPMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Easy going, nice place in the right spot. LP recommended it and we totally 100% agree with it.
Walking distance form the seal colony and very good restaurant. A bit further out form the village which made it peaceful and nice. The free internet was very much appreciated. One of the few places that offered it really for free.
Only thing was the TV broke when we had a short storm and powercut. But things do happen and we just went to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchandKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingleton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Admiral Court was a good find. A nice room with plenty of space, clean, well furnished and a good bathroom. 1 minute from beach and very close to seal colony and a really nice cliff walk. Would choose to use it again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babsdranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
111 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Court Motel

Property: Admiral Court Motel
Address: 16 Avoca Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Admiral Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Admiral Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing