We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice motel, better if you have a car though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Admiral Court Motel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice motel, better if you have a car though”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I stayed here recently with my partner and her parents. We found the motel itself to be very nice and clean, and as it is just around the headline it is a short walk to spectacular views across to the mountains. It is also a short drive from the seal colony around the headland.

We very much enjoyed our stay here, but as it is a couple of kilometres from the township I would probably recommend it more for people who have their own transport. If you are on foot there are motels that will be an easier walk to the town.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neomancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    48
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
50
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed at the Admiral Court Motel at the end of a short holiday and found the location was great. It is towards the peninsular which is a popular spot for visitors to see the seal colony. Having said that the road seemed quiet especially so at night. The motels are on slight hill so have great views of the surrounding mountains and sea. Was wonderful sitting on the verandah looking at the views with a beer/wine in hand.

The rooms are clean and comfortable and the host was friendly and helpful. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarknJanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
144 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Two nights in a roomy studio unit facing ocean and Kaikoura Mountains. Front patio accessible by large sliding glass door runs across several units and beyond this is small garden with BBQ. Car parking at the back door. Room was designed for disability access and contained QB, SB table & chairs and settee. Cannot recall cooking facilities but kitchen was well equipped $140 pn. Having stayed in several disability accessible units we were particularly impressed with how well the shower drained in this one. The view out to the mountains was beautiful. Road noise and traffic were not problems. Rooms had good sound insulation. Heating was from small wall mounted electric heater.
Sited on the peninsula it would be a longish walk into the CBD and more to railway station, but less than 5 minutes drive. But there was a highly reputed restaurant next door and good pub less than 5 minutes walk. Longish walk to the seal colony and BBQ seafood van. We enjoyed easy walk along the beach out to the” New” wharf and many were walking around to the seal colony. Had fantastic cray from Cods and Crayfish, Beach Rd on the northern edge of town. Also excellent fish and chips from Hine’s Takeaways , West End Kaikoura.

Room Tip: Rooms in back row have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chewinggum32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Very clean motel rooms, comfortable bed and everything you'd need for a few days.

Location is good with a bub and a bar two minutes away

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMWelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Only stayed one night but the motel had everything that we needed - so highly recommended for a base. Try the Green Dolphin Cafe next door for dinner but you may need to book as its probably the most popular in town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

A couple of kilometres out of town, but no problem as loads of free parking.
Small outside space, with no privacy. Some nets at the windows would have been good....

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Some might find the location a bit out of town but that is what we wanted. This area is quiter and a pleasant walk to the seals. Ideal to do the Peninusla Walkway. Roger was helpful and even offered to pick us up if we could not finish the walk. Room was spacious and everything we needed. The free wi fi connection worked well in unit 2 and was the main reason we selected this motel. We booked 3 nights and were given a $10 a night discount automatically and in the end stayed 4 nights. Pleasant views of the mountains and close to the sea.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scorpio111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
109 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
411 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
1.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Court Motel

Property: Admiral Court Motel
Address: 16 Avoca Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Admiral Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing