We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Admiral Court Motel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic spot”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

What a lovely motel super friendly staff awesome view great pub food was fantastic.
The unit was really nice after the drive from Picton comfy beds, nice and warm. kaikoura is such pretty spot the seals were in no hurry just a short walk from the motel would recommend this location thanks again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    49
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
51
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a basic motel, at a basic price. It's OK. The rooms aren't particularly modern, but they are at least warm, large and comfortable. It's not really easy walking distance from the centre of Kaikoura. The only major irritation is wifi that requires you to stand outside in the car park...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was our sixth overnight stay on a south island roadtrip,staying with my cousin in Christchurch who I hadn't seen since 1966,so lot of catching up to do! Great location and friendly staff,food was very good and general atmosphere very relaxing,would have like two nights there ideally

Room Tip: All more or less identical,we had three between our party,all similar and adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter i l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our overnight in beautiful Kaikoura was more memorable due to our stay @ Admiral Court. Welcoming owners, spacious, well appointed and warm (important that night) studio. The appalling weather was offset by a great seafood dinner @ nearby historic hotel. Within walking distance .. even better.

Room Tip: We had centre room on left as you drive in - could not be faulted. Sea is so close a view is not ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faye p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunsborough, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We arrived late(ish), to a sign posted on the reception door which said “[My name], Sorry I and not hear to meet and greet you. Your unit is 3 downstairs. Your key, wi-fi and milk is in the room. Call me on 0800 xxx xxx if you have any problems. Otherwise see you in the morning. Thank you, Karla”.

There’s probably a few ways to take a note like that. In my case, the lovely handwriting and the overall welcoming tone of the note were a hit. So much so that I took a photo of the note taped to the inside of the reception door.

The Admiral Court is right up on the southern end of Kaikoura Bay, and just a bit tricky to find (only because one wonders if the road is going to end). But the location is superb. A 2 minute walk from the old jetty on Wakatu Quay, and with great views back over the bay. The Pier Hotel, on the Quay, is a great place to have a relaxing drink (and probably dinner, although we didn’t) and watch the sun set. (We did have dinner at the lovely Green Dolphin, right next door to the motel, and the two – i.e. the motel and the restaurant next door - make a great combination.)

The motel itself is very comfortable, and I have no criticisms or suggestions for improvement. There’s not much I can say about it, other than it was a pleasant stay.

And next morning, when we checked out, Karla was not there, but rather her husband (I assume). So I never did get to thanks her for her welcome note!

Room Tip: Arrive late - get your own personalised welcome note!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had stayed at this motel about four years ago and were happy to stay again on this occasion. It is a little way out of the centre of the town - we walked it once but it is a bit of a hike. The room we were in had sea and mountain views and it was beautiful to wake up one morning and see fresh snow on the mountains. The room was large, well equipped and spotlessly clean. The lady we dealt with was extremely friendly and helpful. There are two excellent eating options within two minutes walk of the motel. The location is very quiet at night which made for a very good night's sleep. We would not look anywhere else for accommodation in Kaikoura

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Good service, but no Sea views. There's a row of houses/buildings between the motel and the sea. You can get some sea glimpses only.
Nice enough quiet rooms. Bed we found too soft, with roll together.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hotwxsearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#13 of 20 in Kaikoura
113 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
1.8 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Court Motel

Property: Admiral Court Motel
Address: 16 Avoca Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Admiral Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Admiral Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing