We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and awesome views”
Review of Alpine View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alpine View Motel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place and awesome views”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed here Queens birthday weekend for 2 nights. We arrived late in the evening however the hosts couldn't have been friendlier.

In the dark it didn't look like much however once we got in the room it was big, tidy and fantastic. When we woke up in the morning and pulled back the blinds we were treated to a view of snow-capped mountains. Brilliant!! We sat there for ages eating breakkie with these great views.

They also had a laundry onsite which was fantastic to use and also a pile of books that you could borrow.

The whole place was tidy, well kept and the staff were fantastic. Easy stroll onto the beach or into town as well. Great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Many thanks for your very kind review. It is greatly appreciated and very pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    25
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
14
39
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level Contributor
187 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I stayed 1 night whilst driving to Christchurch, so I wasn't able to look around and can't comment on the views. The room was good value and very clean. The manager was very helpful and courteous and took the effort to see I am comfortable and was able to plan my journey.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KT785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Hi, Many thanks for your review. It is always nice to get positive feedback and we look forward to your return. Again it is appreciated to be told we are "Decent Value".Regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast NSW
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed here over Easter and found the room was large clean and tidy the husband and wife owners were very helpful even supplying super glue when my sunglasses broke. The motel is in a great spot within walking distance to shopping and restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
HI. Thank you for your kind review. We hope that your sunglasses are still holding together:). Since your stay we have a lot more dolphins in the bay which has been great as sure there were some when you stayed. We look forward to your return.Take care Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
296 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

4 friends in 2 studio units--price very reasonable and accommodation pleasant and clean and not too far from the town centre, grocery shops and a variety of food outlets. Liked the direct access to the beach from the motel grounds. Was not sleeping too well so was conscious of the noise from the trains during the night. The line was between the grounds and the beach. The rest of my party did not hear the trains so obviously not a major issue. Great base to come back to after days of exploring the area. Would certainly go back there if ever in kaikoura again and would recommend to others. Looked as if it would be good for families in the larger units with the play area away from any car parking.

Room Tip: If a poor sleeper ask for a unit mid way between the road and the railway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Hello Christine
Thank you for your report. We are sorry you were not sleeping well while staying with us but very pleased that you would come back to stay and that you would recommend us to your friends. This is the best advertising we could ever ask for and is appreciated. We hope you are again sleeing well now you are back home. Take care. Kind regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The bed was amazing. The room was great and comprehensive. We were kept lovely and warm by the heating. The man at the desk was really great - his wife usually looks after things but she was sick. It was great to have laundry facilities.

Room Tip: We had a studio room and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
On behalf of my husband who usually is not in the office I would like to thank you for your great review. You gave him such a good review I will make sure he is in the office a lot more:) We hope at some stage you will return. Again thank you. Regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Very comfortable room, furnished with individual style that suits the local environment and with welcoming personal touches.
Thanks for the very helpful information the hosts gave us about tours, places to eat and the wonderful seal pup nursery in the Ohau Stream.
We had a car and the distance from town was no problem. Closeness to supermarket an unexpected plus.

Room Tip: One of the middle rooms will be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We have tried to decorate the units to a beach theme so very please you liked this.
I am very pleased the written directions we give to our guests heading north got you safely to Ohau Point & Stream and that you were able to see the seal pups at the waterfall for yourselves. Once again thank you. Regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makawao, Hawaii
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The room was very clean, airy, sunny and quiet. It was very roomy. After a terrible previous night at an awful motel in Lake Tekapo, this was a very welcome relief. There is a kitchenette with a small fridge. When you check in, they ask if you want cream or light milk for your coffee/tea. There is a little picnic area and swing set for kids to play outside. It is a quiet area, even though it's off the main road and near the beach. We were there just the one night but we didn't hear the roar of the ocean nor train going by. We walked across the train tracks to check out the beach. It's a good walk away from the center of town. You can walk or drive. I liked the idea that it's away from the town center anyway. Even though it offers free internet, the hosts give you a card w/ the access password and it can be quite slow or interruptive. If you want to use a second device, you have to ask for another card. The hosts are very accomodating though and very friendly. I would definitely come back here again or refer people to this cute beachside motel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MakawaoMaven808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you so much. You have made our day and we appreciate your comments. Again many thanks Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.6 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.1 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#13 of 20 in Kaikoura
110 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#8 of 20 in Kaikoura
94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine View Motel

Property: Alpine View Motel
Address: 146 Beach Road | State Highway 1, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine View Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We warmly welcome you to Alpine View Motel situated in a lovely garden setting situated next to the beach with our very own beach access ― ideal for a lovely evening walk or if you want to try your hand at surf casting. Our desire is to ensure your stay is both comfortable and memorable. All 12 apartments are ground-floor, with parking outside your door. We have a range of apartments from studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom family apartments. All are fully self-contained and serviced daily. All are spacious and away from the road in a lawn and garden setting.We proudly received 3rd Place in (November's 2011) the Commercial Section of the Kaikoura Garden Competition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alpine View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing