We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alpine View Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Lodge(Kaikoura)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
23
27
16
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
27
16
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandsupermarketmoteltownhostswifiheaterocean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

A disappointing motel which is very tired and needs updating. We were greeted with the information that the fridge was not working properly. The kitchen was very old and tatty. The railway line ran right next to our room and although it was not very busy was noisy right into the late evening and early morning. Attention to the customer was poorer than other motels we experienced on our trip.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hazel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

We are sorry you were not happy with your stay at our property. We did apologies on arrival about the fridge. We had a new one on order but we are in Kaikoura which can take time to get items delivered. We did out best with what ice packs and we made an offer of using our own fridge.
All accommodation on Beach Road has the railway line running along side and the line is on all our directional maps. We do not hide this from potential guests.This unit in question has a car park.,BBQ area, children's playground, large hedge and fenced between itself and the line. There are others providers that are closer to the line than our motel.
We do not promote ourselves as an upmarket providers but middle of the road accommodation which offers clean and comfortable apartments. We are a Qualmark 3 star plus motel not a 5 star plus hotel which usually means guests like to be more independent when staying with us. I have my Dip in Tourism Management and have managed an New Zealand i-Site Visitor for many years in the past and I am more than willing to help guest if and when asked. We have many photos of our motels on line including TripAdvisor so please if reading this take a look/ judge for yourselves. Regards Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Only stayed one night as on a road trip. Location was good, close enough to shops and restaurant but not to close to cause noise. Host were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms we had did have a bit of an odd layout for the bathroom but everything is there and clean to provide a good stay

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sues09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your review.I am glad you had a comfortable over night stay with us. Regards Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Spacious, very clean and well decorated main living space with functional but rather tired and cramped bathroom area.

Friendly and helpful owners. Well maintained gardens, washing line and outside seating by units and on other grassy areas.

Situated on a main route so easy to find, which isn't noisy at night, with beach access from the back. However, adjacent to a train track that produces quite a rattle a couple of times a night and a good 20 min walk into town.

Free low quota wifi very welcome.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank aceadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you for your review. It is nice to get a review that appreciated our clean units. Most guests are happy with the allocation of 100MB as Wi-fi reception is difficult in Kaikoura with being so close to the mountains and the sea. Even our local volunteer fire service still relies on the old fashion sirens as mobile service is not reliable. Regards Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

When we arrived, we were greeted by friendly staff who were very helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and the sleeping, dining, kitchen, couch area is very spacious. The bathroom is a little smaller but still good. We enjoyed the short walk to the beach and being close to a supermarket and a short drive into town.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubblestef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us a very nice review. As I have said to others it is greatly appreciated getting positive feedback. Regards Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We didn't arrive till late, around 9pm, but called while we were traveling to advise, the staff were really friendly from the first phone call, and on arrival they were equally pleasant. The room was abb older style motel unit, but was not old style decor, it was possibly the cleanest motel unit I have stayed in. Everything was spotless. There was a train pass by around midnight, but it wasn't too bad, and I'm a light sleeper. We were about 15 mins late in checking out, but the cleaners had skipped our room. I kind of expected a knock on the door as a quick reminder, but they didn't even do that. We even apologised to the owner who was working with the cleaners and he said it wasn't problem, and we shared a couple of laughs and left in really good spirits.
I read through the other reviews after staying there and they didn't make sense, every bad thing people said, we found it to be the total opposite, so I wonder if those people had a bad day with bad weather or long tiring trips and took it out on their accommodation providers. Even their price is cheap in comparison with other places in the district.
Thanx for a really great sleep and friendly service, this is the sort of friendly welcoming that makes nz the awesome place we call home.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank spookikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you Guys. I really wish everybody was as kind as you have been with your review as it is greatly appreciated and makes what we do worth while. It is when we get this type of appreciation we do feel we are doing something right. Again what can I say but thank you and we would love you to come back anytime. Take care. Kind regards Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews