We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Alpine View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpine View Motel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed in the campground part of this holiday park. All was well cared for, working and efficiently run. The manager was really helpful in helping us get wifi set up, and in pointing us towards interesting things to see and do in Kaikoura. The holiday park is a relatively short (10 minutes) walk to the town, but is too far to walk to the seal area and other attractions at the other end of town. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DixonsInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Thank you for your kind review but I am sorry you have the wrong property.
We have motels only and are situated on the north side of the New World Supermarket / Hunting and Fishing shopping complex.
I am sure your review was for Alpine Pacific Holiday Park.
Kind regards
Jenny Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    25
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
14
39
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here after swimming with dolphins in Kaikoura. It's a little way out of town but with a car it was absolutely fine. We found the heater and electric blanket came in handy after a cold day on the sea and we were lulled into an afternoon nap before dinner. The kitchen was well equipped for our needs and the whole room was very clean. We found the owners helpful and friendly and made use of their tips for the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyLane87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a good time in Kaikoura and that you found our motels to be clean and warm after a day out at sea. Our cleaning staff made a comment that your unit was lovely and tidy after you left which from our prospective is also greatly appreciated. Kind regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dre-fach Felindre, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

A disappointing motel which is very tired and needs updating. We were greeted with the information that the fridge was not working properly. The kitchen was very old and tatty. The railway line ran right next to our room and although it was not very busy was noisy right into the late evening and early morning. Attention to the customer was poorer than other motels we experienced on our trip.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hazel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
We are sorry you were not happy with your stay at our property. We did apologies on arrival about the fridge. We had a new one on order but we are in Kaikoura which can take time to get items delivered. We did out best with what ice packs and we made an offer of using our own fridge.
All accommodation on Beach Road has the railway line running along side and the line is on all our directional maps. We do not hide this from potential guests.This unit in question has a car park.,BBQ area, children's playground, large hedge and fenced between itself and the line. There are others providers that are closer to the line than our motel.
We do not promote ourselves as an upmarket providers but middle of the road accommodation which offers clean and comfortable apartments. We are a Qualmark 3 star plus motel not a 5 star plus hotel which usually means guests like to be more independent when staying with us. I have my Dip in Tourism Management and have managed an New Zealand i-Site Visitor for many years in the past and I am more than willing to help guest if and when asked. We have many photos of our motels on line including TripAdvisor so please if reading this take a look/ judge for yourselves. Regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kaikoura hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Only stayed one night as on a road trip. Location was good, close enough to shops and restaurant but not to close to cause noise. Host were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms we had did have a bit of an odd layout for the bathroom but everything is there and clean to provide a good stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sues09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your review.I am glad you had a comfortable over night stay with us. Regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Spacious, very clean and well decorated main living space with functional but rather tired and cramped bathroom area.

Friendly and helpful owners. Well maintained gardens, washing line and outside seating by units and on other grassy areas.

Situated on a main route so easy to find, which isn't noisy at night, with beach access from the back. However, adjacent to a train track that produces quite a rattle a couple of times a night and a good 20 min walk into town.

Free low quota wifi very welcome.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aceadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for your review. It is nice to get a review that appreciated our clean units. Most guests are happy with the allocation of 100MB as Wi-fi reception is difficult in Kaikoura with being so close to the mountains and the sea. Even our local volunteer fire service still relies on the old fashion sirens as mobile service is not reliable. Regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

When we arrived, we were greeted by friendly staff who were very helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and the sleeping, dining, kitchen, couch area is very spacious. The bathroom is a little smaller but still good. We enjoyed the short walk to the beach and being close to a supermarket and a short drive into town.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubblestef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us a very nice review. As I have said to others it is greatly appreciated getting positive feedback. Regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We didn't arrive till late, around 9pm, but called while we were traveling to advise, the staff were really friendly from the first phone call, and on arrival they were equally pleasant. The room was abb older style motel unit, but was not old style decor, it was possibly the cleanest motel unit I have stayed in. Everything was spotless. There was a train pass by around midnight, but it wasn't too bad, and I'm a light sleeper. We were about 15 mins late in checking out, but the cleaners had skipped our room. I kind of expected a knock on the door as a quick reminder, but they didn't even do that. We even apologised to the owner who was working with the cleaners and he said it wasn't problem, and we shared a couple of laughs and left in really good spirits.
I read through the other reviews after staying there and they didn't make sense, every bad thing people said, we found it to be the total opposite, so I wonder if those people had a bad day with bad weather or long tiring trips and took it out on their accommodation providers. Even their price is cheap in comparison with other places in the district.
Thanx for a really great sleep and friendly service, this is the sort of friendly welcoming that makes nz the awesome place we call home.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank spookikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you Guys. I really wish everybody was as kind as you have been with your review as it is greatly appreciated and makes what we do worth while. It is when we get this type of appreciation we do feel we are doing something right. Again what can I say but thank you and we would love you to come back anytime. Take care. Kind regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.6 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.1 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#13 of 20 in Kaikoura
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine View Motel

Property: Alpine View Motel
Address: 146 Beach Road | State Highway 1, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine View Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We warmly welcome you to Alpine View Motel situated in a lovely garden setting situated next to the beach with our very own beach access ― ideal for a lovely evening walk or if you want to try your hand at surf casting. Our desire is to ensure your stay is both comfortable and memorable. All 12 apartments are ground-floor, with parking outside your door. We have a range of apartments from studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom family apartments. All are fully self-contained and serviced daily. All are spacious and away from the road in a lawn and garden setting.We proudly received 3rd Place in (November's 2011) the Commercial Section of the Kaikoura Garden Competition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpine View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing