We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed in one of the double, ensuite rooms and found them to be lovely. These rooms share a kitchen with the other double ensuite rooms, which makes it a bit quieter - no problems sleeping. The kitchen is relatively well equipped and clean. The internet at this place was the best value of anywhere we stayed in the south island ($4 for 24 hours), and was relatively fast. The pool and the spa area are really nice. Overall a nice place, and pretty good value. The only downside would be that it is a 5-10 minute walk from town, but we didn't find that to be an issue.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace_Kinza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

Rooms are OK. Kitchen well equipped but not very clean. The best: swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Be careful with the laundry: our white t-shirts turned coloured and broken! And they didn't ever offer to pay us the laundry back...

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACJPIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

At backpackers there are always lazy guests who don't clean their dishes, but usually the staff clean the kitchen at least once a day. Here they don't clean it at all; it stinks, the floor is sticky and there are crumbs, dust and bits of food all over the place. The toilets aren't cleaned properly either.

The staff are rude, sarcastic and unhelpful, and refused to post an item I left behind to me even though the post office is a few minutes walk away, on the grounds that no staff are ever able to leave the backpackers. They have a van, which must be for decoration I guess.

The place is spacious and the pool and spa are nice.

I've been staying in backpackers all over the country several times a year since I started alpine trekking 22 years ago, and this is the dirtiest and has the worst service of any I've seen.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicholasD768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I stayed for one night on a Wednesday. The location was very good as you can walk to the main street of Kaikoura in 7 minutes or to the New World supermarket in about 10 minutes in the opposite direction. There was space to park the car, even on the road if busy. The staff on the desk were helpful. The room was very good for the price, a twin room for $80 with ensuite. The shared kitchen upstairs was useful. I didn't go in the pools or sauna, but they made for a nice view. There were nice places to hangout and meet other quests, indoors and out. There was a little noise at night from other guests' doors banging or feet walking by on the landing, but nothing major for me.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pichelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We booked in without having read any reviews beforehand which turned out quite good as some of them dont seem to be great...We had a fantastic time there though! The lodge is pretty big which gives you the choice of meeting people or sticking to yourself (everyone who has travelled for a while will know that some days, you just don't feel like doing the backpackers small talk). So we didn't mind that it is a little more anonomous there. The pool area is great (and included in the rate!) and the upstairs rooms are spacious and very clean. I don't know why some people left those comments, but we stayed there for three days and every single day they cleaned the entire hostel and it was very tidy unless guests left their dishes behind. It was also quiet, so it is definitely not a party hostel, but a good place to hang out and relax.
I think they got new staff there or maybe new management, 'cause the receptionist lady was constantly scraping old signs off the doors and kept updating stuff. She was also very nice and helpful and did everything possible to book a dolphin swim tour for us.
I really liked our room upstairs and compared to what we paid for other accommodation before we definitely got way more out of this one with sauna, spa pool and swimming pool... I would happily recommend this place. It's not luxury, but it is a good, tidy and spacious backpackers with spa :-) Also walking distance into town center (5min max), lots of restaurants around it and pretty much next to a convenient store.

Room Tip: upstairs en suites are nicest, some of the other rooms are a bit bare, but spacious and clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Verena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

Do you know any other hostel in NZ with poo, spa and sauna? It was a great surprise for us that at Dusky Lodge all that was included for only 21$ a night as a bbh member. Even though it's one of the bigger hostels it's a great place to meet heaps of people and enjoy beautiful Kaikoura togehter. The staff was really friendly and helpful, the room tidy and the kitchens fully equipped. All you need to be a happy backpacker. Definately one of the best places I've stayed during my travels. :)

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiaKurzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Our room on the top floor was clean and quiet. The reception staff were helpful when I had to ask for the sauna to be turned on. I did not really fancy the small swimming pool. The communal kitchen was messy.
The price was reasonable for our needs ($80 per room per night) and we knew it was a good walk or short drive out of the main town. The worst thing had nothing to do with Dusky Lodge, but with a neighbouring property, where a morning sight would usually be some young girl vomiting over the balcony !!
We were an "older" couple, and I would not have liked to be there on my own, mainly because of its neighbours .

Room Tip: Top floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.3 mi away
Seaview Motel
Seaview Motel
#16 of 32 in Kaikoura
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpine View Motel
Alpine View Motel
#17 of 20 in Kaikoura
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
349 reviews
1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.6 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusky Lodge & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusky Lodge & Backpackers

Address: 67 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range: £12 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dusky Lodge & Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers is situated on Beach road, Kaikoura. We are the largest hostel in Kaikoura catering for groups and budget travellers. We offer a clean homely environment with bunk rooms, doubles, twins, ensuite rooms and heating in all rooms. All bed linen and pillows are provided. There are 3 large kitchen's fully equipped as well as BBQ's on the decks free to use. We have a large heated salt water pool, spa and sauna to enjoy while staying with us. Guest computers are available and the wifi can be used throughout the building. The hostel is only 5 minute walk to the town centre, and across the road from Whale Watchers. The best bakery in town is situated right beside us and grocery stores only minutes away. The intercity bus can drop you off outside the hostel, ask the driver when you start your journey. We have plenty of parking space and it's free to use. Luggage storage short term is available, if needed ask at reception. Dusky Lodge & Backpackers is a great place to relax, unwind and take in the great views and spectacular sunsets from our extensive decks. Our friendly team can help book tours or give you advice on what to do while you are with us. We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Dusky Lodge & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing