We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed two nights here in a private room. The room and ensuite bathroom were clean. The bed was pretty soft, but we slept well! Wifi was good. The pool and hot tub were great. We found the upstairs kitchen cleaner and better stocked than the kitchen on the main floor.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MathYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights in twin ensuite which good size & situated upstairs in more private area with kitchen & lounge facilities. Freezing cold on arrival but soon warmed up & we were early arrivals. Good location, just 5 mins walk from main town & supermarket. Good size pool for summer guests & all year round hot tub / sauna which great bonus at budget lodge. Hostess tray in room with tea, coffee & milk very welcome as was very comfortable bed. Good choice :-)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Zymotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at the Dusky Lodge this weekend, it was wonderful. It was cold outside, but nice and cosy inside with the fireplaces everywhere. We chilled in the hot tub for ages, and the view from the back deck is so nice. The rooms were very good, nice beds and great facilities for what you pay!

Room Tip: The private room was VERY nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsabelleWestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed about 2 months in Dusky, feels just like home with the big living room.
Friendly and nice Manager!
Perfect hostel with big kitchen, pool & hot tub.
Definitely go back again when I visit Kaikoura!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amily8658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed here a month ago and found it to be a well-maintained hostel with friendly staff. I would definitely stay here again if I was in Kaikoura. The kitchens are well-stocked and the pool was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian19762014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at dusky a few times over my year in nz and loved it every time. The staff are all amazing and the rooms are always clean and have plenty if room. The pool and hot tub were a huge bonus which we took advantage of. Highly recommend it and be sure and say hi to damo.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Cathal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Perfect hostel in a perfect little town with nice staff. Had a good time down there. This place leaves nothing to be desired. Clean rooms, close to centrum and to the beach. The staff knows heaps of secret spots. Don't miss that. Thumps up and 5 stars.
Greets Kerstin from Moa :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerstin135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.6 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#13 of 20 in Kaikoura
115 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
#8 of 36 in Kaikoura
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusky Lodge & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusky Lodge & Backpackers

Address: 67 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range: £12 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dusky Lodge & Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers is situated on Beach road, Kaikoura. We are the largest hostel in Kaikoura catering for groups and budget travellers. We offer a clean homely environment with bunk rooms, doubles, twins, ensuite rooms and heating in all rooms. All bed linen and pillows are provided. There are 3 large kitchen's fully equipped as well as BBQ's on the decks free to use. We have a large heated salt water pool, spa and sauna to enjoy while staying with us. Guest computers are available and the wifi can be used throughout the building. The hostel is only 5 minute walk to the town centre, and across the road from Whale Watchers. The best bakery in town is situated right beside us and grocery stores only minutes away. The intercity bus can drop you off outside the hostel, ask the driver when you start your journey. We have plenty of parking space and it's free to use. Luggage storage short term is available, if needed ask at reception. Dusky Lodge & Backpackers is a great place to relax, unwind and take in the great views and spectacular sunsets from our extensive decks. Our friendly team can help book tours or give you advice on what to do while you are with us. We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Dusky Lodge & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing