We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The White Morph Heritage Collection
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Our rooms were all overlooking the sea. The Hotel had a laundry, much needed when on a 20 day tour!! The staff i met were very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were large with A/C, but it took me ages to work out where the A/C control was, till I noticed it staring me in the face!!
We had dinner one evening in the White Morph restaurant and we all had the crayfish. Expensive but delicious!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the first floor extension
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judiglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

we had one night here at this oddly named motel style Inn and really enjoyed our stay. The room was large, comfortable and clean and the receptionist gave us a bottle of milk on arival so that we could make our own tea or coffee. The inn is well placed on the esplanade just accross the road from the bay. Unfortunately we were in transit to Christchurhc for our flight home on the next day and arrived too late to go out on any of the whale watching or dophin or seal watching trips. Ther are also trips out to view Albertross. We ate in the hotel's restaurant on the Sunday evening and were surprised that a relatively small inn could produce such good food in comfortable suroundings.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed here for one night on our travels from Nelson to Christchurch and were quite disappointed by the accommodation the town had to offer. Although we did have a nice meal at the White Morph restaurant next door to the hotel.
The hotel was disappointing for the price of $240 per night for a so called luxury room which really wasn't in comparison to some of the other places we have stayed in the South Island.The basin was badly cracked in the bathroom and the shower recess was mouldy also shower door dragged on the floor. An initiative test was needed to find the soap hidden in the drawer.
After a very good look around the town this was probably one of the newer places to stay, but would suggest that the general standards of the operation could be lifted to align with their luxury tag.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 87Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

This was our second night in New Zealand and we found the room excellent. Very clean, modern and easy to find - it exceeded our expectations. The chap at the reception desk was very friendly and informative and the private parking behind our room made us feel that the hire car was secure! Overall I cannot recommend this place highly enough. We had a ground floor room overlooking the sea. Morning coffee on our little terrace outside was lovely!

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katieandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I hadn't been to Kaikoura for years and wanted to have a night on route to Picton from Queenstown. We didn't have a booking so just drove along the main road until we found a vacancy sign. We got one of the last rooms which was also the most expensive - $300+ but we had a great stay over looking the beach. The town was lovely and quiet and the room contained everything we needed including a washing machine/dryer which was great for us after being on the road for a few days. We had dinner in the restaurant next door which was pretty average for the price and for this type of restaurant to be seated as a couple next to a family with a baby and a toddler was pretty disappointing. However I loved Kaikoura and would most definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erena_fenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Stayed the one night. Facilities excellent. Parking secure, Close to resturants. Rooms were cranking hot. No aircon. Got very little sleep as bed was uncomfortable. Heat did not help. A little expensive but apart from that it was okay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikehiker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Primelocation, Manager at The White Morph Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Thank you 'Bikehiker' We are glad that you enjoyed Kaikoura and our proximity to the towns amenities, cafes and the waterfront. All our luxury rooms with a 'nice view' have air-conditioning along with our Superior rooms and we are upset that you were unable to familiarise yourself with it. If you were unsure, the reception does have cooling fans for the guests use on the occaisional hot day and would have been delighted to help you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Our room was very nice with a great view of the sea. The room was spacious and our bed was very comfortable. My only complaint would be, considering the price we paid for the room, wifi should be free. To get wifi you had to pay to use the local hotspot and the charges are quite high.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surelynotme, Manager at The White Morph Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thank you for your stay in a Luxury spa room at the White Morph Inn on the waterfront.
We appreciate your staying with us. We are sorry that you were unaware of our free 80 megabytes for each room and our two high speed touch-screen computors in the lobby free of any charges to our guests to use as they wish. Please ask at reception when you check in for
your voucher. thank you again for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
1.6 mi away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Morph Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Morph Heritage Collection

Address: 92-94 Esplanade | post code: 7300, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly White Morph Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kaikoura
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range: £87 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Morph Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Esplanade in iconic Kaikoura, The White Morph enjoys commanding views of the ocean right to the distant horizon and mountains, and gives you access to all of the region's many experiences. We offer a range of 5 Star and 4 Star Qualmark rated studios and self-contained apartments. Our 5 Star Premium studios include an ocean views and a hydrotherapy spa en-suite. Our 4 Star Garden Studios and Family Apartments look out to the garden area. Cafe Encounter, Shops, movie theatre and all activities are in close vicinity. 8 Premium Studios, king beds, with hydra-therapy spa baths. 4 Premium Studios, with either a king bed or twin beds,with spa baths. 4 Deluxe Studios, king bed with bath and shower. 3 Family Apartments, accommodation for up to 6 persons. 12 Garden Studios with queen and single beds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Morph Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Morph Motor Hotel Kaikoura
White Morph Hotel
White Morph Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing