We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It IS a motor inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The White Morph Heritage Collection
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“It IS a motor inn”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We had a spa sea front room. You go upstairs an outdoors stairway---the hall smelled very stale. The room itself was fine---and it did have a big spa tub. It does face the sea--but there is a busy road right in front. We did see a beautiful sunrise on our balcony. It is fine---just keep in mind it IS a motor inn. Very convenient located in the center of town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank el04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    188
    41
    18
    7
See reviews for
64
263
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

It was late on arrival, the owner was helpful. Parked around the back, then straight into the room with a spa bath. The cleanliness was perfection! The courtyard area was great, beautifully landscaped, and cool to look out to the amazing views of the beach, and mounts. The shops are a hop, skip, and jump away. I would recommend this Inn to anyone!

Room Tip: "A room with a view, can't beat it!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eldersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

... if you are willing to pay for the rooms ... the others facing the parking lots are still quite nice comfortable small studios. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Free internet in the lobby. A nice leg stretcher to the downtown of Kaikoura with several restaurants - the one right next to the hotel is pricy, but good food and wine. Short drive to the whale watching (we were weathered out though :(

Room Tip: Again, the ocean view rooms have great views, but you will pay for it over the ones facing the parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

On making my booking I was thanked for my custom - which makes a change - some motels and cafes seem to forget there is plenty to choose from and that you are the customer who has chosen them. On arrival we were greeted pleasantly and shown to our room. Room had everything we needed incl a stool for the third person to sit at table (not provided in many rooms supposely suitable for 3). Large towels provided incl one for third person (which you normally have to ask for). Bathroom was modern and clean with good water pressure. Fittings throughout were modern and clean. Beds were very comfortable. Overall excellent. Never tried the restaurant next door but did try the encouter cafe. See my review for further details.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CosmicCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple nights. Room allocated was spacious, comfortable and clean with adequate provision for our stay. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Would stay here again and would recommend to anyone seeking accommodation in Kaikoura.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueJH-19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed for one night late February. The room and facilities were very good, clean and tidy. Front of house staff were welcoming and helpful. However, the overall experience was let down by the motel restaurant. We booked a table for two, but when we arrived were told that placings for 4 had been set and we had to wait, standing, whilst the table was re-arranged. Wine was a minimum of $45 a bottle or $10 a glass. We opted for a glass and when mine was poured there was so little that at first I honestly thougt that I was being asked to taste it before the glass was topped up. No such luck - I have NEVER seen so little being presented as a glass of wine. Not more than 70ml. Food was Ok, but nothing extra was offered, not even a bread roll, during our rather long wait. It appears you only get just what you pay for, and what you get you pay quite a lot for.
When we asked for the bill it was left, in the usual folder, by one staff member and then 45 seconds later snatched away by another staff member. I explained I hadn't even looked at the bill yet. When I had checked the bill and left the folder open with my credit card visible we were then kept waiting half an hour before it was taken.
Whilst I regularly check reviews on tripadvisor this is the first time I've been moved to write one.
I reccomend using the motel rooms, but dining elsewhere.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank martin834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Primelocation, Manager at The White Morph Heritage Collection, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that our room and service exceeded your expectation. The WHITE MORPH INN has NO business relationship with the restaurant as it is privately owned and not connected to the accommodation. We hope that on your next stay with us you have a better dining experience at your choice of eatery. We have menu's from all Kaikoura's restaurants and are only too happy to help you make a choice.
Thanks and regards. Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
303 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Per arrangement by the travel agent, we spent one night in a "luxury spa studio with breakfast" in February. The room (#48) was large with double bed, sofa, table for "eating", separate coffee table and two chairs. There was also a balcony with chairs a round table and a sea view over the street. The bathroom had a large hot tub with shower, warming towel rack, and amenities included tissues, shampoo, soap, body wash, and hand lotion. The compact kitchenette included a small fridge, microwave, 2 burner range, and microwave. The receptionist provided us with a complementary 30 minutes wifi time; there is a fee to use longer. There is a laundry facility which we did not use. In spite of being on the main street, Kaikoura rolls up at night and it was very quiet. The view of the sea was lovely.

Breakfast was provided with a "chit" for the cafe next door, which seemed frequented by many locals when we were there early the following morning. We had dinner at their restaurant, which was expensive (typical in NZ) but excellent. Good thing we had made reservations even though it was a Thursday evening because the place was busy!

The location from the town center is too far to walk, but the drive is easy.
If you need to check out early, check out the night before since the reception area is not open until 7:30.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the sea, make sure you ask for it. Other rooms face the parking lot or are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
1.0 mi away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#8 of 20 in Kaikoura
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Morph Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Morph Heritage Collection

Property: The White Morph Heritage Collection
Address: 92-94 Esplanade | post code: 7300, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly White Morph Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kaikoura
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Morph Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Esplanade in iconic Kaikoura, The White Morph enjoys commanding views of the ocean right to the distant horizon and mountains, and gives you access to all of the region's many experiences. We offer a range of 5 Star and 4 Star Qualmark rated studios and self-contained apartments. Our 5 Star Premium studios include an ocean views and a hydrotherapy spa en-suite. Our 4 Star Garden Studios and Family Apartments look out to the garden area. Cafe Encounter, Shops, movie theatre and all activities are in close vicinity. 8 Premium Studios, king beds, with hydra-therapy spa baths. 4 Premium Studios, with either a king bed or twin beds,with spa baths. 4 Deluxe Studios, king bed with bath and shower. 3 Family Apartments, accommodation for up to 6 persons. 12 Garden Studios with queen and single beds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The White Morph Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Morph Motor Hotel Kaikoura
White Morph Hotel
White Morph Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing