We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Factory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Factory
Ranked #2 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed here one night at the start of our South Island driving holiday, and it was a great way to start! Kaikoura is a beautiful village and the best place to go for swimming with the dolphins or whale watching on the east coast. The Factory is fabulously and respectfully restored.The guest quarter is very large, with 3 bedrooms around the central living area, a fully equipped kitchen, and a gorgeous bathroom. You have exclusive use of the entire guest quarter (including the 3 bedrooms and an outdoor spa). The interior design and furnishings are trendy but tasteful, and all the appliances are high end. The bed was very comfortable. Paul and Janet are genuinely the most friendly hosts we have met, and well-traveled and interesting people to boot. Although they had friends over for dinner, they (and their friends) took the time to have a chat with us and gave us very helpful advice on what what to do and where to eat. We did not opt for breakfast because we were going to swim with the dolphins early next morning, however the wonderful smells emanating from the kitchen made us regret that decision instantly. Paul very kindly made us cafe-quality coffee before we left. The whole experience was awesome and we were very sad to have only stayed one night. The Factory is definitely on our list of places to return to.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here - it was lovely to meet you both and we are very happy to have been able to make the start of your holiday memorable. I am sure your dolphin swim was amazing - we are so lucky here to have such amazing wildlife opportunities. Hope the rest of your holiday went well and we look forward to seeing you on your return some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
81
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

I visited the Factory on my 66th birthday after a trip on the Coastal Pacific Railway to Kiakoura. The day got even more special when we saw a Sperm Whale! Nothing could prepare me for the fantastic welcome we received from Paul And Janet our hosts at the Factory- a place of peace and beauty! Totally blown away by the apartment- in all my years I have never stayed in such a sumptuous , well equipped and magnificent accommodation. What a memory to treasure and to top it off the food was magnificent and all home grown (or caught!). Lasting memories to take away with the hope that we may some day return.

Room Tip: The whole incredible apartment is yours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Oh thank you so much for your lovely review. We felt privileged to be able to make your birthday so special - it was fun for us too! Thank you for your artistic input - you inspired us to create some beautiful beach art for Valentine's Day. Hope to see you both again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

We were simply blown away by the charm of The factory and the hospitality of the owners.The peace and quiet were just what we were looking for after traveling around the south Island for 10 days. The beds were super comfy, the place was spotless and we had cold beers waiting for us upon arrival. We opted for the full service and we were soo happy we did. The breakfast that Janet and Paul made for us was above and beyond delicious. It was simply the best breakfast any of us have ever had. It was a 3 course meal, and everything was homemade and prepared by hand in their kitchen. We walked away stuffed and happy. Plan on it being breakfast AND lunch as it is so much yummy food.Our favorite was the crayfish that Paul had caught a few weeks before. Janet's muesli's was awesome, better than any muesli we have ever had! She could open up her own Cafe and it would be a complete success. Janet even did my laundry for me which was a huge treat, especially being a mother of 3. Overall we rank it 5 star +++++, and would recommend it to anybody!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Oh, thank you so much for your kind comments. We are so glad you all had a great time at The Factory and your wonderful compliments about our cooking have made our day!

We really enjoyed meeting your family and were so happy that you had such a memorable encounter with the dolphins.

We wish you all the best for the rest of your time in New Zealand and hope the US contingent had a safe trip home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

Warm place tucked beside the beach, away from the main town of Kaikoura. Beautifully refurbished house with tasteful interior design, filled with old farm rusty charm. Wonderfully friendly hosts, Janet and Paul cooked us a fabulous breakfast too.

Definitely worth the stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nerdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here. It was fun to chat with you all and are enjoying keeping up with all your gorgeous photos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

This was the first stop on our holiday and we couldn't have asked for a more perfect start to our trip! The accommodation is wonderful - beautifully designed and decorated, immaculately clean with comfy beds and in a stunning setting just by the beach. There are also lovely little details which make it all the more special, like fresh flowers from the garden in the living area and bathroom and amazing smelling handmade soap/bath products. To add to all this Janet and Paul are such welcoming and friendly hosts - so helpful when you ask but also giving you your own space. Janet was really kind and put some clothes in the wash for us when we arrived, and Paul lent me his sea sickness bands wrist bands when we went off to watch the dolphins. And the breakfasts Janet and Paul prepared were without a doubt some of the best we have ever had when away on holiday! Three delicious courses, all homemade with fresh ingredients - we even got to sample Paul's freshly caught crayfish one morning which was such a treat! Getting to meet their lovely cats and chickens (and ducks!) too all added to our wonderful stay. This really is a special place and we can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FandAMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
What a lovely review - thank you so much - we really appreciate the time spent in helping us to spread the word about The Factory. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast! We haven't seen the ducks for a while - must be too busy keeping their ducklings in line. Hope you have a wonderful Christmas and a very happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

A stunning and unique building, beautifully finished inside and out. We had a great couple of days at the Factory- it's a fantastic place to relax, very quiet and peaceful. The hosts are very friendly and helpful, on hand with anything you need but they give you your privacy, so you feel away from it all.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Thank you sincerely for your lovely review - so glad you enjoyed your stay here and we really enjoyed meeting you both. Hope you are continuing to enjoy your time in our gorgeous country- we think of you on a Monday and a Friday when the passenger train goes past!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

The only thing we regret is not staying another night.

This is a truly special place to stay. Have a look at the pictures on their website - it has fabulous interior design, the food is delicious (by far the best breakfast we had in all of New Zealand) and the hosts are very welcoming, and still respect the visitors privacy. Highest recommendations!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Thank you for this very kind review - we are so glad you enjoyed our breakfast - we are so lucky to be able to grow, make or catch most of our own food here at The Factory - makes all the difference to the taste I am sure. We really enjoyed meeting you both and hope the rest of your journey was successful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
5.5 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
5.6 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.0 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
3.5 mi away
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
#2 of 36 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
5.4 mi away
Nikau Lodge
Nikau Lodge
#3 of 32 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Factory

Property: The Factory
Address: 5 Hapuku Road, Kaikoura 7371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Factory offers luxury accommodation in an historic building on the beachfront at Hapuku. Here, you can relax in peace and privacy with views of the ocean on one side and stunning snow-capped mountains on the other. Hapuku is less than 10 minutes drive from Kaikoura which is famous for its amazing marine wildlife. The Factory offers exclusive use of the guest wing and is perfect for couples, families or small groups of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Factory Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing