We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Factory
Nearby Hotels
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wacky Stays(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue Seas Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$123
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Fairways(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaview Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
171
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaul janethot tubcatfishnew zealandplush bathrobesincredible place to stayliving area and bathroomdelightful hostsslice of paradiselocal delicacyopen kitchenunderfloor heatingheated floorsstylish accommodationblack sandacross the roadmarine life
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed overnight for our wedding anniversary - wonderful place all to ourselves.

Paul, the breakfast was sensational with crayfish etc. The detail for guests comfort was amazing, with great kitchen etc.

Enjoyed the walk along the beach and very highly recommend - stay more than one night if you can.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheClarkies2247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Factory. Very glad we could help make your wedding anniversary memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

What a place! We have just been on a 3 week round the world trip staying in some of the most amazing hotels including the Peninsula in Hong Kong. But hands down...we both agreed that the Factory is the best place we have stayed.....ever! We were welcomed by Paul who showed us round, making us feel right at home. He popped in with a snack of homemade scones, chocolate brownies, and chilli jam. Oh and a well received glass of something delicious with a splash of rum. That evening we decided to pop out for some food....Paul sorted the restaurant and kindly volunteered to be our taxi for the evening as he was out and about. What more could you ask? Breakfast was....well OMG....Burcher muesli, fresh fruit, crayfish...the works! The next morning Janet cooked our brekkie, Coconut Rice this morning...delicious. Oh and not to mention the great coffee.... So I know Paul and Janet will have been waiting with bated breath to find out the scores on the doors for the breakfast......to be honest....we said it was a draw as both mornings were delicious. I've got the recipes on the go...muesli this morning...trying out the rice tomorrow!!!!!
We will be planning our next trip back as soon as possible. Amazing place, Amazing people, we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Subaru12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Ha Ha! Love your diplomacy in giving us equal scores for breakfast although I am sure I can't compete with Paul's coffee!
Thank you so much for this wonderful review - we feel very privileged to be compared with some of the best hotels in the world.
We really enjoyed meeting you both and hope the rest of your trip went well - we'll look forward to a return visit someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

It's difficult to say what the best thing about this place is. It has all the comforts of home and has a stylish urban chic feel. The coffee Paul makes is fantastic and the breakfasts and little snacks are amazing too. Right near the beach for a stroll which is beautiful whatever the weather and a 10 minute drive to the shops and cafés. We did a whale watching tour by helicopter and landed at the property. Janet and Paul are fantastic hosts and they are the best thing about The Factory. Out of all the fab places we stayed in NZ this was the best.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexnsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you so much guys for your very lovely review. We really enjoyed meeting you both and hearing about your amazing jobs and lives and having Kaikoura Helipcopters bring you home was a highlight for us too! A very Merry Christmas to you both and we look forward to catching up with you again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

As a treat for my dear old dads birthday, I booked us a night at The Factory (after a night in Hanmer Springs) BIG MISTAKE......We should have had both nights at the Factory !!!

The old dairy factory turned guest house is nestled on a narrow strip of farmland, with the snow capped mountains towering behind you, and the wild Kiakoura coastal beach right in front of you.
Believe me, you don't get much more South Island than this, - I'm an ex-pat kiwi, and have travelled all over the Island. This is bloody choice piece of NZ bro !!

A big old sliding door separates the amazing guest quarters from Paul and Janets' area, but they are so nice and so low key, that you really don't feel the need to close it, other than to give THEM privacy. Natural and charming hosts.

The beds in all 3 rooms are the best quality, as are the soft pillows, and pretty much every other detail, right down to the locally made shampoo (I purchased some to take home !!)

Make sure you take the breakfast option.....too far to pop into town for brekky, but more importantly, too good to miss - fresh juices, coconut rice with various preserved and fresh fruit, followed by delicious local bacon and their own chooks eggs (or crayfish caught in Pauls craypots), espresso coffee and home made muffins to finish.

I've stayed in some pretty amazing spots around NZ, Australia, and Europe, but The Factory is in a special league of it's own. The scratch marks on the wall are from my wife dragging me out their door to catch a plane home.

As Schwartzenegger would say......I'll be back !!!

Room Tip: You cant fail - there are only 3 rooms, and they're all yours !!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Love your review!! Thank you so much for taking the time to write it - it certainly gave us a laugh and a big lift for the day. It was so great to meet you all and glad your Dad enjoyed himself - so funny that we have so many friends in common. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Had a great time at The Factory even when we struck bad weather. We stayed for 4 nights with 4 kids... the beach and spa was perfect for them; the house was perfect for us all. Loved the setup, the whole house, wish we could take it with us!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samira888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay here with your lovely family despite the weather! Was great to meet you all and hope we catch up again sometime. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews