We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Marks!”
Review of The Factory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Factory
Ranked #2 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Factory for one night only in February 2014 but so wish it could have been more. Janet & Paul are such fabulous hosts and nothing was too much trouble and the conversation was fun. Janet recommended some great places to eat and the best place to go for fresh crayfish and to catch sight of the deals.

Janet & Paul have decorated the guest accommodation in a fabulously creative and quirky style and we were really impressed with the colour schemes. The sympathetic conversion of the Factory itself with its beautiful timbers and sliding runner doors showing off its history was wonderful. We would most definitely return to The Factory, preferably with some friends to make the best use of the facilities on offer as we felt rather spoilt having the whole place to ourselves. Breakfast was out of this world with fruits from the garden, homemade yoghurt and divine fruit juice of carrot, apple and orange. Paul's crayfish omelette was also delicious not to mention the divine home made muffins. My husband very much appreciated Paul's Barista skills as the coffee was excellent.

We loved Sparkle one of the cats and she kept us company in our courtyard garden whilst we sat and relaxed. The hot tub spa was a real treat too, not to mention the complimentary snacks on arrival and the lovely touch of a bottle of fizz in the fridge. The attention to detail was indeed fabulous and we can't wait to return. Top marks!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Such a lovely review for The Factory. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience here with us - we are so glad you enjoyed yourselves - we had fun too! We loved hearing all about your plans and your exciting renovation - would love to keep in touch and hear how it is all going.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

The quality and style of the accommodation is first rate, and Janet and Peter are wonderful hosts. Lots of nice extra touches, great location just outside kaikoura town (which I would recommend), I only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bakers_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. So glad you enjoyed your stay here and we wish you could have stayed longer too. Hope the rest of your trip went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We arrived at the Factory after a 14 hour flight and a struggle getting our rental car. Our hosts, Janet and Paul, were there to greet us with snacks and a bottle of champagne. Our accomodations were superb. Everything in the 3 bedroom apartment is done with an eye towards high design and nothing was left undone. You'll not find anything from IKEA here. Even the doorknobs are just right. My daughter wants to redo her room at home to look exactly like the room she slept in. She took many pictures for inspiration
Each afternoon Janet brought us tea and the breakfasts were three course extraganzas. No other place in New Zealand even came close on that account.
Paul and Janet were both there to answer all of our questions and just to chat.
The sunset from the beach ( a 2 minute walk) away was as beautiful as any that I have ever seen.
If you are lucky, you will be able to book this spot.

Room Tip: There is only one bedroom apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1999Sandra1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay here and what a lovely compliment that your daughter wants to replicate her bedroom! Having the 3 bedrooms in the guest wing does make it much easier for families to stay and we so enjoyed meeting you guys. Thanks for taking the time to let others know about your experience at The Factory - we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Factory is absolutely a uniquely wonderful accommodation. It is difficult to describe all of the features that justify this over the top positive assessment. First, there is the fact that one has a self-contained 3 BR, 1 Bath, living room and magnificently well-equipped open kitchen, and spa with views to the mountains, a gorgeous uninhabited beach just across the dirt road. It is private and right there in the middle of gorgeous scenery and nature. Somehow, the owners, Paul and Janet have done an amazing job at making The Factory simultaneously quite luxurious and homey. Janet mentioned that Paul, with all of his travelling, really was keen to make it different from the millions of hotels in which he stayed.
They succeeded on that score and then some. Everywhere I turned I noticed some detail, some material, some color theme that just made me smile. And the breakfasts were extremely beautiful and delicious with handmade muffins, jam, and a local delicacy crayfish. Many of the ingredients came straight from Janet and Paul’s garden, and chickens that you can see right out the back door. Others have mentioned the coffee that Paul prepared each morning. I have to agree, it was outrageous, even to Pacific Northwest coffee snobs.

Janet and Paul are themselves a huge part of what makes a stay at the Factory so unbelievable. They are gracious and very interesting hosts full of information about the area, restaurant suggestions, bad weather suggestions, etc etc. Janet even produced a hot concoction of local medicinal manuka honey, ginger, lemon and garlic for me and my husband as we were suffering from coughs and sniffles. Other little details (plush bathrobes, complimentary champagne waiting in the refrigerator, a selection of reasonable priced NZ wines, wi fi, books, DVDs, two friendly cats etc) were also abundant.

We are a family of 4 (me, my husband and our two adult daughters) and our stay was magical. While we could have wished for better weather so that dives etc that we had planned could have happened, we could not have wished for a better place to stay or more congenial hosts. THANK YOU.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADS41952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Wow! So thankful for all your wonderful comments about your stay at The Factory. We had such fun meeting you all and hearing about all your interesting lives. We look forward to staying in touch and am sure we will meet up again at some stage. Hope the snow is disappearing at home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We loved our short stay at The Factory during our driving trip around the South Island. It's a very peaceful spot by the ocean, set up and decorated beautifully inside. We felt so welcomed by Paul and Janet, who gave us great local tips, put on a yummy breakfast for us, all the while respecting our privacy. Loved this place and wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulandBeth2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

It was really great to meet you both and so glad that you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you so much for writing this review. We wish you all the very best for an exciting 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed overnight for our wedding anniversary - wonderful place all to ourselves.

Paul, the breakfast was sensational with crayfish etc. The detail for guests comfort was amazing, with great kitchen etc.

Enjoyed the walk along the beach and very highly recommend - stay more than one night if you can.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheClarkies2247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Factory. Very glad we could help make your wedding anniversary memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

What a place! We have just been on a 3 week round the world trip staying in some of the most amazing hotels including the Peninsula in Hong Kong. But hands down...we both agreed that the Factory is the best place we have stayed.....ever! We were welcomed by Paul who showed us round, making us feel right at home. He popped in with a snack of homemade scones, chocolate brownies, and chilli jam. Oh and a well received glass of something delicious with a splash of rum. That evening we decided to pop out for some food....Paul sorted the restaurant and kindly volunteered to be our taxi for the evening as he was out and about. What more could you ask? Breakfast was....well OMG....Burcher muesli, fresh fruit, crayfish...the works! The next morning Janet cooked our brekkie, Coconut Rice this morning...delicious. Oh and not to mention the great coffee.... So I know Paul and Janet will have been waiting with bated breath to find out the scores on the doors for the breakfast......to be honest....we said it was a draw as both mornings were delicious. I've got the recipes on the go...muesli this morning...trying out the rice tomorrow!!!!!
We will be planning our next trip back as soon as possible. Amazing place, Amazing people, we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Subaru12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Ha Ha! Love your diplomacy in giving us equal scores for breakfast although I am sure I can't compete with Paul's coffee!
Thank you so much for this wonderful review - we feel very privileged to be compared with some of the best hotels in the world.
We really enjoyed meeting you both and hope the rest of your trip went well - we'll look forward to a return visit someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
5.6 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
5.5 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.0 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast
3.0 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#12 of 36 in Kaikoura
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Factory

Address: 5 Hapuku Road, Kaikoura 7371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range: £244 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Factory offers luxury accommodation in an historic building on the beachfront at Hapuku. Here, you can relax in peace and privacy with views of the ocean on one side and stunning snow-capped mountains on the other. Hapuku is less than 10 minutes drive from Kaikoura which is famous for its amazing marine wildlife. The Factory offers exclusive use of the guest wing and is perfect for couples, families or small groups of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Factory Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing