We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience at The Factory”
Review of The Factory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Factory
Ranked #2 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our family enjoyed a wonderful experience at The Factory, the boutique accommodation was perfect and the owners Janet and Paul are such lovely people. Many thanks for one of the highlight stays of our NZ holiday!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBabington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Apologies for the late response to your lovely review. Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts about The Factory - we really enjoyed meeting you all and look forward to chatting again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We loved this place. Everything about it was perfect: location, scenery, comfort, charm and helpfulness of hosts. I'll go back if I'm lucky enough to be on the northern part of the South Island again! Recommend for couples, families or groups of friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJ10538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review - so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you are back home safely enjoying some beautiful summer weather!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We decided to add a Kaikoura visit to our south island trip since we were
going to arrive early in NZ because of some free first class tickets that
were only available on an earlier date. We found The Factory on Trip Advisor
and were amazed to see 100% 5 star glowing reviews. After having stayed
there for two days I now wish there were 10 stars available, it was that good.

Paul picked us up at the train from Christchurch. We had paid the small added
fee for him to act as a chauffeur (available to those train arrivals lacking a vehicle).
He took us to several spots of interest for photos as well as to town for dinner one
night and takeaway another night. He also took us out for night photos the last evening.
I cannot imagine a better host (and I have a great imagination). The accommodations
were high end in every sense - everything from the appliances to the tableware were high end.
The decor was very stylish, as can be seen from the gallery on their website (do a Google
search for "the hapuku factory"). The beach is a walk of under 5 minutes.

I have only a four regrets:

1) We did not get to meet Paul's wife as she was away on family matters.
2) The weather was less than ideal.
3) I could not try the crayfish since I am allergic to shellfish.
4) We did not stay longer.

If you are visiting Kaikoura, have read these reviews, and can afford it, you
you are just plain stupid if you do not book as many nights as you can and stay at
this amazing place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you for such a glowing review. Was great to meet you both and to spend time learning about all the difficulties you experience and overcome taking photos of the night sky. Sorry about the weather, will have to work on that one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights at The Factory and it was lovely. The owners were so accomodating and even fixed us a take away breakfast for an early morning excursion. Janet is a fantastic cook and Paul made a fabulous omelet with crayfish. The Factory is a very unique and charming accomodation. We would definietly stay there again.

Pam and Jim Cote

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Was really nice to meet you both and hear about all your travels. The baby seals are now up under the waterfall. Glad you liked it here and hope that one day you can return to New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We were lucky enough to receive a voucher for our honeymoon to stay at the factory. The factory is uniquely located about a 5 min drive from the kaikoura town right across from the water with beautiful mountains in the background (unfortunately the weather didn't behave itself on the day so we were unable to see them). The kit out of the place was amazing - designer interiors, beautiful colour selections and quality furnishings. We quickly decided we would ditch a night out for a night in and enjoy what the factory had to offer. We enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub, listening to the birds and later playing card games by the fire whilst sipping on sparkling wine. It's all the small touches that really separates this place from the rest - Janet put on welcome drinks and a lovely cheese platter on arrival. The breakfast the following day was amazing - who else offers cray fish for breakfast??!! Yum!! Paul and Janet make great hosts and are such lovely people. We hope to come back again to enjoy the factory once more. Thank you for having us :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RhiannonJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Thank you so much Rhiannon, for taking the time to write such a great review for us. We are so glad we helped to make your honeymoon special and we loved hearing all about your wonderful New Zealand adventures. I will look forward to seeing some photos of the wedding! All the very best for a happy future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Thanks Paul & Janet for sharing The Factory with us. The whole package is fabulous. The guest wing is so luxurious and comfortable. We enjoyed strolling along the beach in the sun and relaxing in the spa. It is not every day that you celebrate your first wedding anniversry and the Factory was the perfect!. Thanks so much. And thanks also for the crayfish....

Room Tip: 3 bedrooms to chose from all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Hi you guys - many thanks for writing this lovely review. It was great to meet you both and we are so glad you felt you had celebrated your wedding anniversary in style!
Hope Cyclone Lusi is not causing you too much grief.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We can't say enough great things about The Factory! Janet and Paul were wonderful hosts- made us a delicious breakfast and had excellent conversation. Everything was so tastefully done from the sparkling wine, to the chocolates, to the pile of heart rocks by the front door, beautiful decorations....every detail was thought out and artistic. Janet and Paul also directed us to great spots to eat and see the seals. We want to come back and stay with friends! Thank you Janet and Paul!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravelingGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

What a lovely compliment - we felt like old friends too!
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to the next visit - perhaps when the baby seals are up at the waterfall? Good excuse to come in our winter! Hope spring is well and truly on the way for you.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
5.6 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
350 reviews
5.5 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Nikau Lodge
Nikau Lodge
#4 of 32 in Kaikoura
278 reviews
4.1 mi away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
712 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hapuku Lodge
Hapuku Lodge
#1 of 36 in Kaikoura
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Factory

Address: 5 Hapuku Road, Kaikoura 7371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range: £235 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Factory offers luxury accommodation in an historic building on the beachfront at Hapuku. Here, you can relax in peace and privacy with views of the ocean on one side and stunning snow-capped mountains on the other. Hapuku is less than 10 minutes drive from Kaikoura which is famous for its amazing marine wildlife. The Factory offers exclusive use of the guest wing and is perfect for couples, families or small groups of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Factory Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing