We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, the whole experience was gorgeous, we loved our time here”
Review of The Factory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Factory
Ranked #2 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stayed at the Hapuku Factory at the start of our South Island trip and loved it. On arrival we were greeted by our wonderful hosts, Janet and Paul. We were served a refreshing welcome drink and canape, herbs and tomatoes fresh from Janet's garden. We settled into our very stylish wing of the old factory. The children were in heaven, three kingsize beds, groovy furniture and loads of peace and quiet, and for our son Bluray, ipod docking etc. . The fridge was stocked with a complimentary bottle of bubbly and some beer. We chose to cook our own breakfast, and a tray was delivered that night filled with bowls of fresh fruit salad, muesli, yogurt, homemade bread and muffins, jam and honey, bacon and eggs, fresh produce from the garden including those yummy tomatoes and fresh herbs. We stayed two nights, but would love to have stayed longer and plan to go back.
We would highly recommend a stay here, for friends or families. A few minutes from Kaikoura, and some spectacular scenery......Congratulations to Paul and Janet, it's fabulous. The Batkin Family

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boocock, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2011

Thanks for your lovely comments guys, it was really great to meet you all and look forward to seeing you back here another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Es gibt nur eine Wohnung ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank veg269forlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Patetchris013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank _tomwer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: freie Auswahl: es stehen 3 Schlafzimmer mit Doppelbetten und eine riesige Wohnküche mit Kamin zur Ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jensmatuszak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Canayama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
5.6 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
5.5 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.0 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast
3.0 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#12 of 36 in Kaikoura
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Factory

Address: 5 Hapuku Road, Kaikoura 7371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range: £243 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Factory offers luxury accommodation in an historic building on the beachfront at Hapuku. Here, you can relax in peace and privacy with views of the ocean on one side and stunning snow-capped mountains on the other. Hapuku is less than 10 minutes drive from Kaikoura which is famous for its amazing marine wildlife. The Factory offers exclusive use of the guest wing and is perfect for couples, families or small groups of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Factory Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing