We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give credit where it's due.”
Review of Willowbank Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Willowbank Motel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Give credit where it's due.”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My family stayed over for the week end and after reading negative reports on here i pleasantly surprised to find the room clean and the staff friendly. Ming the manager went out of his way when i told him i wanted to have a barbecue on the Saturday night he cleaned the barbecue and got it all ready for us. I stayed in a room with a queen bed and the room was clean and well serviced. My son stayed in a 2 bedroom unit and that was also clean and well serviced. Thanks again and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fozziefoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    16
    24
    15
    14
See reviews for
32
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
143 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. There were five of us and we were accommodated in one unit with two bedrooms. The place was clean and the linen fresh. What lets the place down is the tired décor, though the carpets look new or near new. The place was full. If you stay here, be prepared for backpacker standard. It is not flash. Out of interest, I tried to weigh the competition in Kaikoura. It was hard from the outside, but motels I saw looked similar.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scribo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Told by information centre (who rang willowbank on our behalf) that there was a room for 6. We drove around there straight away and were ignored for 20 minutes . Man with dirty gloves on finally reluctantly dealt with us, after we rang the bell lots. He said as computer network down they may have let the room already to someone else, so couldn't let us have it... yet...!!! And, as they couldn't check, -would we wait..? --we pointed out it could be hours before it was going again.!!!!! Asian man pretended not to understand us when we put it to him the simple question; why he had said there was a room, and brought us there. ... ...It was obviously just to make sure they had the room filled to make money., - no matter who they would inconvenience in the process. . they were "putting a dollar each way " so to speak, and using us. Unreliable management.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Prue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kaikoura hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Having read the reviews, we knew not to expect too much. What the Willowbank offered that couldn't be duplicated elsewhere was a unit that would accommodate an extended family of seven. On that, they delivered: a large unit with one double and five single beds. Plenty of space for all.

On the down side, the place had a funky smell. It was clean but just had a chemical sort of smell - like the smell of new wooden furniture. It was especially bad when any of the kitchen cabinets were opened. With that said, everything was clean.

Good or bad, depending on your perspective, was the museum quality of the place. Other than a new TV, it seems nothing has changed during the past 40-50 years. Just like stepping into 1960-something...

Oh, and service without a smile. The young man in the office did his job just fine but no credit for doing anything more than that.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This accommodation was a two bedroomed one with lounge/dining, kitchen and separate bathroom. It was basic, spotless and had everything we needed. Free tea bags, coffee and milk is in the kitchen to start you off. There was a separate laundry which is very convenient if your travelling light. The managers were very helpful too. Very convenient but not walking distance to the town. The town itself if great and several places to eat. Food was excellent wherever we ate. We went whale watching and saw four Sperm whales and it was very exciting to see them dive giving us the opportunity to take photos of their magnificent tails entering the water.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We got this got for $90 on booking.com but it wasn't even worth that. Very tired and dated. Top cover on the bed in need of a wash. Sheets clean - wouldn't have stayed if this had not been the case. Nothing to recommend it and also a fair way out of town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireLass21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

pretty awful and dirty: I could see horrible molds in the drainer of the toilet sink! Thankfully, it was only a one-night stay pre-booked by purejourneys.co.nz. i would neither use purejourneys.co.nz nor stay at this motel again ever! purejourneys.co.nz took 1477 nzd/pp for 13 days on motels mostly with this kind of standard. This place is also far away from town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnwinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.8 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.3 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#14 of 20 in Kaikoura
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpine View Motel
Alpine View Motel
#17 of 20 in Kaikoura
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbank Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbank Motel

Property: Willowbank Motel
Address: 183 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Willowbank Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Willowbank Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willowbank Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing