We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing, hospitable, romantic - just perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dylans Country Cottages
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful, relaxing, hospitable, romantic - just perfect”
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We stayed here for our final 2 nights of a 2 week long honeymoon roadtrip round the south island. We couldn't have picked a better location. The cottage was beautiful, with an outdoor shower and bath, and the couple that run the farm couldn't be more friendly or helpful. Really made us feel welcome and clearly enjoy the job they do.

The cottage we had was classy and very very comfortable. When we arrived, there was kiwi shaped lavender shortbread waiting out for us! These are the little touches of thoughtfulness that set this place apart from anywhere else we visited. We spent our final night soaking in the outdoor bath under the stars with a glass of chilled pinot gris - just perfect. Lavender toiletries provided are just bliss.

Many of the reviews talk about the home baked produce - oh my goodness! Warm fresh baked bread on our first day, which we smothered in butter and honey. On our second day, fresh buttermilk and date scones, and creamy thick yoghurts. Fresh fruit, free-range eggs from the hens, cereal, coffee, juices - just delicious! Set us up properly for our days out on the water.

Take the time to wander round the gardens in the evening as the sun is going down - they are beautiful and so peaceful. We met the hens that lay the eggs and also discovered the boules pitch.

All in all, it was a wonderful end to a fantastic holiday. If I can make it back here again I will!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ammienoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    13
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
70
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Spent two nights here and enjoyed the peace and quiet. Cottage was very comfortable and Corry's bread, biscuits, cakes and scones an extra bonus. Continental breakfast included which was also yummy! The gardens are lovely and would have been even prettier in the summer when the lavender is in bloom. A bit out of the town but would recommend. Other cottage has an outdoor spa!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

The cottage we stayed in was charming, it was the smaller one, since larger one was booked, but it worked out fine for a short stay for 3 people. At first, I thought the outdoor bathtub was a little odd, but it was really fantastic to take a lavender-scented bath while looking up at the stars. We used it both nights of our stay (we took turns--fits one person).

The gardens are amazing, even when not in bloom. Just a beautiful, beautiful site. And the fresh bread and scones were delightful. Jan & Corry were wonderful hosts. Friendly without intruding. Lavendyl is also a great source for take-home gifts--all made on site.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldiveski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We stayed in the Mahoe Cottage for our first 3 nights in South Island and were not disappointed. Home made short-bread biscuits in the shape of a Kiwi welcomed us together with the next morning home made bread, museli, fresh eggs etc. The Mahoe Cottage was absolutely fantastic with its very private outside bath and shower (with a full bottle of lavender water for the bath!!) and very romantic cottage style living room and bedroom.
Corry could not do enough for us whilst we stayed there including making reservations for dinner at the Green Dolphin...ps one of the best ever meals that we have EVER had.
One the last day Corry made us some home made scones.....which were heavenly.
This is a little gem of a B & B just outside Kaikourda but in its own grounds on a lavender farm with the mountains as the background.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tetley62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

My husband and our 16 month old daughter stayed here in April 2011 and were very much looking forward to staying on a Lavendar Farm. We had stayed at some beautiful B&B's throughout New Zealand prior to this and perhaps had been a little spoilt by our hosts at previous places but came away from here feeling sorely disappointed by the rudeness and abruptness of Jan upon checking out. The accommodation was lovely and extremely cosy although the appliances were in dire need of updating. The microwave in our room did not work properly (it looked at least 20 years old) and the hairdryer in our room was also broken. The outside bath was lovely although I have to admit I didn;t feel was particularly private as we could clearly see next doors cottage and assume the could do the same. Upon checking out I wanted to buy some gifts from the shop which wasn't actually open at the time we checked out but my husband asked if this was ok and Jan actually looked shocked and reluctantly said yes but spent the next 30 seconds mumbling under her breath which I assume was in annoyance, needless to say I didn't waste my money on gifts in there.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carleywhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaikouraLavender, Manager at Dylans Country Cottages, responded to this review, 25 April 2011
Thanks for bringing your concerns to our attention and we will do our out most to update dated appliances and privatize the outside bath area even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights during our trip to kaikoura. We had a lovely relaxing stay in Mahoe cottage - a cozy little cottage with a kitchen/living area downstairs and bedroom/balcony upstairs. Although it is the smaller of the 2 cottages it has its own secluded little courtyard with a outdoor bathtub and outdoor shower. It was great taking a bath under the stars with the lavender water provided. We also enjoyed walking around the lavender farm and feeding Peter the friendly little lamb.

Corry was an excellent host and provided freshly baked bread every morning.

As it's a couple of km away from the kaikoura town centre, having a car would be essential for staying here but the peace and quiet on the lavendar farm makes up for that. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PocketRocket76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Spent two nights @ Kowhai Cottage. Corry & Jan are great hosts. Walked around the wonderfully kept gardens, watched Jan make pure lavender oil, Jan let me use his clubs for golf for round at Kaikoura Country Club, just flat out nice people.
Cottage is upstairs/downstairs, you cook the eggs, and Corry’s daily newly baked bread is outstanding. Queen bed, fine, has spa in bathroom to take lavender baths, another bonus. Cottage has a camping/hunting/farm feel about it. Very nice outside patio/grass area with smell of flowers everywhere. Close to town. Corry’s recommendation of local restaurant was appreciated. They have a shop with all Lavender products including lavender ice cream.
The Lavender farm is actually a stop on a local tour, which you won’t need to take if you stay there.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank undertaker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaikoura
4.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.8 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#14 of 36 in Kaikoura
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lavender Hill
Lavender Hill
#2 of 3 in Coatesville
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
161 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
4.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylans Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylans Country Cottages

Property: Dylans Country Cottages
Address: Postmans Road, RD 1, Kaikoura 8280, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing