We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dylans Country Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dylans Country Cottages
New Zealander
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

The cottage was an absolute delight - the scent of lavender is all pervasive, with the lovely goods available for purchase in the lavender shop. The gardens are beautiful. We sat in the sun and watched wood pigeon and tuis in the trees outside. The cottage is well equipped and the fresh bread or scones delivered in the morning with the condiments already supplied is a true treat!

We were well looked after by the hosts and their willingness to accommodate our early morning departures was truly appreciated. Wonderful hosts!

This is the most perfect place to stay in.

Room Tip: Note - the cottages are 2 storied so stairs to the bedroom won't suit everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    13
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
70
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Stayed in the mahoe cottage for one night in October, it was one of the highlights of our trip! Really cosy cottage with the big seller being the outdoor bath and shower! loved it. Really comfy bed and the freshly baked bread the next morning was brilliant. Wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fionaot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Been There, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

My husband and I hiked and toured around New Zealand for seven weeks and our stay at Dylans Cottage ("Lavendyl") will remain one of our fondest memories. The high season was just over which gave us the advantage of being ablt to choose from lots of available accommodations. We drove past several in the area and chose this place because of the beautiful gardens and quiet setting. We found the hosts very engaging and helpful. We stayed in the smaller cottage and I'd go back in a heartbeat. The little deck off the upstairs bedroom was like finding a secret treat. We took had a wonderful soak in the outdoor tub, adding the bottle of lavendar water. I stayed in well past the wrinkled fingers stage, listening to [I think] possums rummaging in the bushes. Breakfast was a feast and included fresh warm bread delivered to a little box outside our door. Marvelous!

Five months after our stay I've just now used up the second bar of soap I purchased there and I wish I'd bought more. I highly recommend their products. If you buy nothing else, at least get some lavender oil - a little goes a long way and it will last you quite a while.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carry-on-Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

i travelled with my two little girls, aged four and 18 months to New Zealand. Corry and Jan, who run Dylan's cottages, were lovely and made me and my daughters feel like home. Every day we were treated with home made bread, jam, honey and eggs.During the weekends we received home made scones. it was lovely and I advice every one travelling to New Zealand to stop by at the Lavender farm in Kaikoura. The setting is beautiful and the artisanal lavender products are fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanyamichils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

We stayed here for our final 2 nights of a 2 week long honeymoon roadtrip round the south island. We couldn't have picked a better location. The cottage was beautiful, with an outdoor shower and bath, and the couple that run the farm couldn't be more friendly or helpful. Really made us feel welcome and clearly enjoy the job they do.

The cottage we had was classy and very very comfortable. When we arrived, there was kiwi shaped lavender shortbread waiting out for us! These are the little touches of thoughtfulness that set this place apart from anywhere else we visited. We spent our final night soaking in the outdoor bath under the stars with a glass of chilled pinot gris - just perfect. Lavender toiletries provided are just bliss.

Many of the reviews talk about the home baked produce - oh my goodness! Warm fresh baked bread on our first day, which we smothered in butter and honey. On our second day, fresh buttermilk and date scones, and creamy thick yoghurts. Fresh fruit, free-range eggs from the hens, cereal, coffee, juices - just delicious! Set us up properly for our days out on the water.

Take the time to wander round the gardens in the evening as the sun is going down - they are beautiful and so peaceful. We met the hens that lay the eggs and also discovered the boules pitch.

All in all, it was a wonderful end to a fantastic holiday. If I can make it back here again I will!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ammienoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

Spent two nights here and enjoyed the peace and quiet. Cottage was very comfortable and Corry's bread, biscuits, cakes and scones an extra bonus. Continental breakfast included which was also yummy! The gardens are lovely and would have been even prettier in the summer when the lavender is in bloom. A bit out of the town but would recommend. Other cottage has an outdoor spa!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

The cottage we stayed in was charming, it was the smaller one, since larger one was booked, but it worked out fine for a short stay for 3 people. At first, I thought the outdoor bathtub was a little odd, but it was really fantastic to take a lavender-scented bath while looking up at the stars. We used it both nights of our stay (we took turns--fits one person).

The gardens are amazing, even when not in bloom. Just a beautiful, beautiful site. And the fresh bread and scones were delightful. Jan & Corry were wonderful hosts. Friendly without intruding. Lavendyl is also a great source for take-home gifts--all made on site.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldiveski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaikoura
4.2 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
4.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lavender Hill
Lavender Hill
#2 of 3 in Coatesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
#2 of 36 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hapuku Lodge
Hapuku Lodge
#1 of 36 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylans Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylans Country Cottages

Property: Dylans Country Cottages
Address: Postmans Road, RD 1, Kaikoura 8280, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing