We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best farm stay ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dylans Country Cottages
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Best farm stay ever!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at dylans country cottage during our visit to kaikoura. It was a beautiful experience. The owners were wonderful people. They were super friendly, accommodating and patient. The cottage itself was sooo cute. We had an outdoor bath which was heavenly. We loved how everything was freshly made, the jam with berries that were just harvested, the tea, the toiletries, the freshly baked bread and cookies and the massive free range eggs. A truely wonderful place. Can't wait to stay there again :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Iris X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    13
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
70
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My aunty was visiting from Canada and I chose Dylans Country Cottage for her last two nights as I knew she would love the Lavender farm setting. Corry and Jan went well beyond our expectations and were extremely friendly and welcoming. From the early morning baked bread, lavender cookies, fresh eggs from their chickens and just the pure level of detail and thought that went into everything. A fabulous stay and one neither my aunt or I will forget. P.S. We stayed in the smaller cottage (Kowhai?) and the ceiling in the bedroom upstairs has a skylight so an added bonus was seeing the stars from bed! P.P.S. Make sure you check out the shop - lots of great products with the same level of care and detail put into those as the accommodation!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee-Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

The two of us stayed in Kowhai cottage for 2 nights. Jan and Corry were incredible hosts and really made us feel welcomed. The lavender gardens were simply beautiful and we never got tired of strolling around the gardens to breathe in the lovely lavender scent. The lambs are adorable and they would actually come up to the fence to greet you! The cottage was clean and we love the little touches like lavender plates and potpourri in the bedroom. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MelodyOng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Staying at the lavender farm was one of the highlights of our trip. The hospitality is incredible! Corry baked us fresh bread and scones in the morning. It's so peaceful and beautiful in the cottage and u feel like u have this whole stunning lavender farm to yourself. Recommending it to everyone

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SasFag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed in Mahoe cottage for a couple of nights during our honeymoon and had a lovely time. The cottage is very cute and cosy and the outdoor bath and shower just fantastic. Jan delivers freshly baked bread (or scones) to your cottage every morning to be enjoyed with their delicious free range eggs and everything smells of lavender.
It is approx 7km from Kaikoura town centre so you would need to drive into town for any activities or to eat out but it's rural location just add to the tranquility. Perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoLuMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at Jan and Corry's B&B for a night for the 3 of us while on a 2 day trip in Kaikoura. Our only only regret was that the cottages were fully booked for the next day and we wanted so much to continue to stay there.

When we arrived, Corry brought us to our cottage and we were overwhelmed with how clean and how quaint it was. I have been to Kaikoura 3 times before and have visited the farm all 3 times. The farm has actually changed hands 6 years ago to its current owners and I must say the experience and the shop has improved vastly.

The cottage was very clean, the upstairs room was spacious and the bedding was very clean and comfortable. The cottage came with lavender water, lavendar honey, butter, jam and chutney, tea, coffee and the kitchen utensils were very clean and well kept.

Jan also introduced us to the lambs and we had the glorious experiences of feeding them twice, once at 8pm and another time at 8am. The chickens, all 8 of them, laid fresh eggs everyday and we got to taste how fresh they were the next morning.

Corry bakes her own bread for the 2 cottages everynight and she delivers them to us at 730am the next morning, together with 6 free range eggs.

Having travelled around the North and South island for 2 weeks, we were amazed that this farm had free wifi (unlike even in Wellington or Auckland where we had to pay for wifi in the top hotels) and this was a welcome treat. We went to buy fish and chips from town and we had a glorious dinner outside of the cottage, with our wine and beer and fish and chips.

We would like to thank Jan and Corry for the immense hospitality and warmth, we would not stay anywhere else when we are in Kaikoura the next time. This B&B has set standards very very high for us.

Imagine waking up to fresh bread, free range eggs and the smell of fresh lavender in the morning.

Thank you so much, Jan and Corry. You have made our Kaikoura visit very very unforgettable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have stayed in the Kowhai Cottage and it was lovely for our family of 3. We arrived just in time to feed the lambs and chickens. The lambs are so cute and we loved the experience of feeding them.
The freshly-made bread by Corry is the best home-made bread we have tasted. The lavender honey provided goes very well with the bread.
Corry and Jan were very hospitable and helped us make booking for the whale watch.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank zippee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaikoura
4.3 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
4.5 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lavender Hill
Lavender Hill
#2 of 3 in Coatesville
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
#2 of 36 in Kaikoura
202 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hapuku Lodge
Hapuku Lodge
#1 of 36 in Kaikoura
295 reviews
4.0 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylans Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylans Country Cottages

Property: Dylans Country Cottages
Address: Postmans Road, RD 1, Kaikoura 8280, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing