We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY COMFORTABLE ACCOMMODATION WITH STUPENDOUS VIEWS”
Review of Manakau Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manakau Lodge
Ranked #1 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“LOVELY COMFORTABLE ACCOMMODATION WITH STUPENDOUS VIEWS”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

15 Mins outside of Kaikoura and in the most peaceful and beautiful setting, a modern Lodge done to a high standard with high quality, well equipped bathrooms and good size bedrooms. We pre-booked an evening meal to have on our first day ( check all evening meals must be pre booked before arrival!!) and were delighted with a lovely meal served in the dining room. The weather was dreadful and it was so nice to stay in and have our meal served to us without having to go out.

I would agree with other reviews, it is more like a small boutique hotel than a bed and breakfast. Guests have their own dining room and lounge area with log fire. No not cheap but you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TEX1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManakauLodge, Owner at Manakau Lodge, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
What a great pleasure to meet you, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, despite the unseasonal weather. Thank you for posting such a warm review. It would be lovely to see you again should you choose to spend a short break on the South Island. All good wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
122
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Manakau Lodge is a gorgeous spot. The views of the mountains are spectacular and rooms are great. Neil is a great host--the crawfish dinner and breakfast was delicious. We wish we had stayed longer than 1 night, but it was a great place to end our trip to NZ.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank traveler2014580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManakauLodge, Owner at Manakau Lodge, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review of your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Lodge, and that your last night in New Zealand was all you hoped for. Glad you enjoyed our crayfish too! Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights here and very much enjoyed our stay. The lodge is a ten to fifteen minute drive from Kaikoura and the local restaurants but you won't mind that when you see the view from the rooms. We had the deluxe mountain view which I would recommend, the snow capped mountains are so close and far more spectacular than the sea view rooms, also the afternoon sun is wonderful to sit out on the adjoining deck.

The rooms are spacious with lovely bathrooms but a little impersonal for me.

We pre booked dinner at the lodge and it was a nice change not to have to drive to a restaurant. Neil cooked us a beautiful three course dinner which we thoroughly enjoyed.

This review would have been five star but there were a couple of things that let the lodge down for me. Firstly there was no mirror of any description in the bedroom and no plug socket in the bathroom which meant that you have to plug the hair dryer in the bedroom socket and strain to see what you are doing in the bathroom mirror. The second niggle was the bathroom products were not replenished on our second day. The miniature shower gel and shampoo tubes are not enough for two people at the best of times and certainly don't last two days. It's only a little niggle and had I asked for some I'm sure it would have been no problem but in five star accommodation you should not need to ask.

I would definitely return to Manakau Lodge, lovely accommodation in a beautiful location.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Virginia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManakauLodge, Owner at Manakau Lodge, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the trouble to post a great review.

Thanks too for your constructive and helpful comments. We are on the case with the room mirrors - they are being made for us at the moment and we should have them in all the rooms very soon; your comment on the replenishment of the bathroom products is also noted. With regard to the power point in the bathroom, there is in fact a socket for the hairdryer above the shelf within the vanity unit, though it is fitted on the inside wall for electrical safety reasons, and so not necessarily obvious. I should make a point of mentioning this to arriving guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This place was nice to stay but overpriced. The setting was very nice with views to the mountains. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. The wifi and the in room Ipad was good. It wasn't very spacious. A fridge in the room is needed.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bugz2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManakauLodge, Owner at Manakau Lodge, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you taking the trouble to review your stay, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the comforts and amenities which we offer, as well as the views, of course. Whilst we don't have a fridge or other self-catering facilities in the rooms, guests are more than welcome to use our kitchen fridges to chill a bottle of wine or store some groceries whilst staying with us. I'm sorry if you weren't aware of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Well appointed, especially from technology point of view. Very comfortable bed & stunning mountain views from our bedroom (a mirror in the bedroom would be a good addition). Excellent breakfasts. More like a small boutique hotel than a B&B.
Whale-watching flight well worth doing; our pilot exceptionally informative and enthusiastic.

Room Tip: Go for a mountain view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManakauLodge, Owner at Manakau Lodge, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Many thanks for posting this review and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed both your stay with us, and your activities in the Kaikoura area generally. Thanks too for the very helpful comment on mirrors. We have some being made for us, and although we were unable to have these in time for this summer, we hope to have them in each of the rooms very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

The most stylish and comfortable accommodation I have ever experienced. Lovely views from the property and a quiet location just outside town. A very peaceful and pleasant place to stay and Neil is friendly and looks after you very well indeed. A talented cook and photographer and his prints provide some dramatic NZ landscapes.
Fantastic service and was so quick to post some items I had left behind. Made us feel very welcome. A lovely stay

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JazzMaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManakauLodge, Owner at Manakau Lodge, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for posting such a terrific review. It was a great pleasure meeting you both and having some great conversations! Until next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The excellence of this property is only exceeded by Neil's wonderful food. We stayed two nights and dinner was delicious on both: the best food we have had on his trip. Ten out of ten for service and hospitality: from meet and greet at the station to taking us back to the train two days later nothing was too much trouble. When our dolphin experience and whale watching trips were cancelled Neil made sure we were not disappointed by showing us the seal colonies. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back get great views of the mountains - we even had some fresh snow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 161albert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManakauLodge, Owner at Manakau Lodge, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you so much for your kind and generous compliments. It was a real pleasure having you stay with us and we are delighted to know that you enjoyed it so much, particularly in light of the unsettled weather we experienced at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
6.6 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
6.8 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hapuku Lodge
Hapuku Lodge
#1 of 36 in Kaikoura
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Factory
The Factory
#2 of 32 in Kaikoura
153 reviews
6.3 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
2.3 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#13 of 36 in Kaikoura
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manakau Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manakau Lodge

Property: Manakau Lodge
Address: 198b Parsons Road, Kaikoura 7371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manakau Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in beautiful mountain surroundings just ten minutes from Kaikoura, Manakau Lodge is a luxury rural retreat, offering the discerning traveller the finest in country lodge accommodation and hospitality. Our guests' comfort is our number one priority. A great night's sleep awaits in our specially-chosen, super-comfortable beds, with fine cotton linens and beautiful, luxurious woollen bed blankets. King size beds are the standard in our two Lodge Rooms, and our slightly larger Deluxe Rooms feature super-king beds, which can also be converted to twin singles on request. Furnishings in the guest lounge and bedrooms are hand-made from New Zealand rimu, a native timber prized for its warm tones and rich natural beauty. Each room also comes with a pair of deep-cushioned armchairs, a 32-inch LCD television with satellite Freeview and Apple(R) TV, a writing desk with an ergonomic chair, and the most luxurious modern bathroom, with heated floor, warm towels, and a superb walk-in monsoon shower. Both Deluxe Rooms also have the added indulgence of a deep, free-standing bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manakau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing