We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn the Bay Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Seas Motel(Kaikoura)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sails Motel(Kaikoura)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Panorama Motel(Kaikoura)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
57
9
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bwalk in showerone nightwet roomexcellent place to stayon arrivalstayed longervisit kaikouranext morningwhale watchingcomfortable bednew zealandkylielukenzhostaccommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

A lovely spot with very friendly hosts who made us feel welcome. Very modern room and bathroom both nicely decorated. Tea and cake were waiting for us when we arrived which was a nice touch. There is no TV or kettle in the room but there is a shared lounge which had a big satellite tv, lots of comfy chairs and a fridge with tea and coffee. Sharing this space may not be to everyone's taste if you want a bit more privacy but it was fine for us. Breakfast is in the hosts living space and again will be served alongside other guests - again this may not be right for everyone if you want to eat on your own but we really enjoyed it. Location is about 20 minute walk to the strip but quite near the Green Dolphin restaurant that we would recommend. Good value too.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank stevejackson375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Kylie and Luke place last week and had a wonderful time. They are running a lovely little place and are very friendly people! We had few drinks with them at their local bar and had a real laugh. Recommend it to anyone who want to go shale watching!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Fabien-E14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed for longer. Kylie and Luke are great hosts and we were made to feel very welcome. Bedroom was spotlessly clean and the bed was really comfortable. The view of the bay over breakfast was amazing. Would recommend Inn the Bay to anyone planning to stay in Kaikoura.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philipsmansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InntheBay, Owner at Inn the Bay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thanks guys for your amazing review! We loved having you stay and only wish that you could have stayed longer. It was lovely to meet you both.

Take care,

Luke & Kylie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed with Kylie & Luke for one night and we really enjoyed their hospitality! They were great hosts and a big help to find good places to eat, book dolphin trips, etc. The rooms were absolutely clean and we had plenty of space. We particularly liked the delicious continental breakfast! Conclusion: highly recommendable!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InntheBay, Owner at Inn the Bay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thanks for your very kind comments. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay and we really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review.

Best regards

Kylie & Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Our stay in Kaikoura at the Inn the Bay was one of the highlights of our trip to New Zealand. Kylie and Luke are gracious hosts, and both are experienced in the hospitality business. They offered very helpful advice on places to visit, hikes, restaurants and other area attractions.

We stayed in the larger room, which is newly redecorated and very spacious. Breakfast on their beautiful deck overlooking the bay with the snow-capped mounains in the background was unforgettable.

The Inn is located just across fron the bay and away from the main commercial area, so it is quiet and peaceful, yet it's close enough to walk to several fine restaurants. It was such a special place that we extended our stay for a third night.

Inn the Bay, and the welcome provided by its owners, just felt so good, and we will definitely go back if we are in Kaikaoura again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacksonCage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InntheBay, Owner at Inn the Bay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Wow! thank you both so much for your very complimentary review, the biggest one of all being that you decided to stay another night. Much appreciated! We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your travels.

Warm regards

Kylie & Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews