We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and Friendly Owners and a Large Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn the Bay Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 31 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Inn the Bay is a fine place to stay as long as you don’t expect an ocean view or cooked breakfast. The one room with the ocean view was taken by one of the owners’ friend, so my husband and I had the room in the back of the house next to the parking and garden areas. The room was very large with a 1queen size, and one single bed, a couch, and a dresser. The bathroom was modern and very clean. Adjoining our room was a “common” area with a table, couch, chairs, television, games, refrigerator, books, and magazines. As part of our welcome, the owners left cake and tea and coffee – a nice touch. Breakfast was served upstairs next to their kitchen with a choice of a number of cereals, fruits, yogurts, toast and jams, and coffee and tea. We dealt only with the woman owner, who gave us more tips about where to hike and places to eat and information about NZ in general than anyone from other lodgings. We would probably stay here again and had no complaints about the owners’ friendliness and helpfulness or the condition of the room.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, be sure to confirm that when reserving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mallory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InntheBay, Owner at Inn the Bay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We're happy to hear you had a nice stay, and I'm glad I could give you some info on New Zealand. We're very sorry if their was a misunderstanding about our rooms. We do only have 2 guest rooms and neither of these have views. The front room you are referring to is in no way suitable for paying guests as it has no bathroom or facilities. We are however, in the process of renovating this room and adding an ensuite, so if you were to stay again, this room will be available to book in the near future. We advertise that continental breakfast is included in the room rate and cooked is available on request. I appreciate you mentioning this, and perhaps i need to look into making this clearer. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.

All the best,

Kylie & Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Kylie is the kind of person that makes you think of moving to Kailkoura just to be friends with her! She was delightful and very helpful. She picked us up from the railway station and brought us back the next day. She also drove us to the lookout as we didn't have enough time to get there by foot before darkness. We also enjoyed talking with Luke and his colorful father. Breakfast was good.

Kylie said many people who visit Kailkoura end up staying much longer than they expected, and often permanently. Regrettably we only had one night to spend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InntheBay, Owner at Inn the Bay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hi Daniel & family

Thanks very much for your amazing review! It was an absolute pleasure having you and no trouble at all picking you up, I'm just glad you at least got to see some of our beautiful town. Thanks again for staying with us, and I hope you enjoyed your time in and around Milford.

All the best,

Kylie & Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Quiet peaceful seaside location ,spacious rooms with nice and clean private facilities.
This B & B is run by a delightful young couple who will do everything they can to make your stay in Marlborough as enjoyable as they can .
We were particularly pleased they pointed in the direction of the Ohau waterfall and the baby seals.
Off street parking ,your own entrance you can be as independant or as interactive with your hosts and fellow guests as you want to be.
At Inn the Bay we were very comfortable ,very warm and had two nights of really good sleep.

Room Tip: Forest room is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bugsey23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InntheBay, Owner at Inn the Bay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thanks for the outstanding review! We really appreciate you taking the time to write one. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Kaikoura and so pleased that you were able to see the baby seals and get some R & R on your weekend away.

All the best,

Kylie & Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We only stayed one night but were very impressed with this B&B, it was only our third night in NZ and Kylie met us with a lovely smile and made us feel very welcome. We strolled up to the Pier Hotel and had a Guiness on tap and on Kylies recommendation had a beautiful porterhouse steak up in town. Everything was great, the room, bed, breakfast, view, the list goes on. Recommended, thank you Kylie(we didn't get to meet Luke).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tilbalass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InntheBay, Owner at Inn the Bay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write us such a positive review. I know the Whaler steak is always a winner for us so it's great to hear that other people have enjoyed our recommendations as much as we enjoy it. We're glad you had a good stay with us and hope that you thoroughly enjoyed the rest of your trip around NZ.

All the best,

Kylie & Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

A really super place to stay. Right on the sea front on the Esplanade and close enough to walk into the town and close enough to walk to the pier and the point. The owners were so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a real treat and served on the balcony as the sun rose over the sea. We'd love to come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InntheBay, Owner at Inn the Bay Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your very complimentary review. We're so pleased that you had a nice stay with us and hope that you enjoyed your last 2 days in New Zealand. Hoping you didn't have any trouble getting that Manuka through customs! Thanks again for staying with us and taking the time to leave some positive feedback.

All the best,

Kylie & Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The room was large and spotlessly clean. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts who are very keen to please and offer good advice on the area. Good breakfast. The perfect base for whale watching and walk around the headland.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Inn the Bay was a wonderful place to stay in Kaikoura. There are many bed and breakfast inns as well as motels, but the Inn the Bay beat them all. The Inn is just south of town across from the bay with beautiful views of the bay and the mountains. There are only two rooms at the Inn with a common area in between. The room was large, comfortable and nicely furnished and decorated. Kylie was a great hostess: very pleasant, personable, informative and gracious. This is the only place to stay in Kaikoura, but book early as the Inn is often full.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
368 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.9 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nikau Lodge
Nikau Lodge
#3 of 31 in Kaikoura
286 reviews
7 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 31 in Kaikoura
177 reviews
2.3 mi away
Brook House B&B & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn the Bay Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn the Bay Bed & Breakfast

Address: 196 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range: £100 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn the Bay Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Inn the Bay Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing