We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quick and simple”
Review of Adelphi Bar And Restaurant - CLOSED

Adelphi Bar And Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: New Zealand
Restaurant details
Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“quick and simple”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We just wanted to grab a quick simple dinner and Adelphi worked. We were in the mood for pizza and salad. Pizza was tasty but crust was clear not hand thrown. Definitely pre-made crust. There was not a simple green tossed salad on the menu, but when we asked if it was possible to get one, they happily accomodated us with a lovely fresh garden salad. The window seats offer fresh air and great people watching and are relaxing. Once past the row of window seats, the restaurant takes on much more of a pub atmosphere

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    52
    23
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“really nice”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Went here with friends while I was travelling and the food was great. I had the muscles, the portion was huge and tasted really good. My friends had the pizzas and said they were amazing. Would reccomend this place!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TippElle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good service, ok food.”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Stopped in here for lunch on the way through. The service was good, friendly staff.

The two lunches we ordered were ok but judging by the very short amount of time to prepare made me think they were heated and served rather then freshly prepared.

Kaikoura is a beautiful place!

Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Give this a miss”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Went here on recommendation of motel, the food was poorly cooked. My steak was like a rubber boot and full of gristle. The staff were friendly but after the high standard set in many other NZ eating places I definitely would not recommend this place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great place for tasty food”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

You can have a choice of sitting inside or just but the road side and people watch. Staff are great fun, they encouraged us to join the pub quiz in their room next door. Really good night, would go back. Food is brilliant , good portions and value for money. Keep up the good work.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adelphi Bar And Restaurant also viewed

 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing