We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class accommodation in great location”
Review of Anchor Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchor Inn Motel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We only stayed here for one night but wished we could have stayed longer. We had one of the waterfront rooms which was definitely worth paying a little extra for. Room was clean with high quality fitments. Very friendly and helpful host, who recommended seafood from the little trailer opposite the motel - absolutely delicious! Close to town and to seal colony.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spiderboris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2011

What a delightful motel. Spotlessly clean and extremely spacious rooms with a great view. Our room fronted the ocean, with views of snow capped mountains. We did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Just returned from one night with my 4 and 2 year olds. We had a queen bed in lounge and separate bedroom had two twin beds which was perfect for our needs. The room was modern, clean and spacious. Found it very quiet with no noise from other rooms but close enough to the beach to hear the sea. People very friendly and liked the DVD player in room and extensive selection of DVDs in the office. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms not on the beachfront get the last of the setting sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiTraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I loved the location of this motel. Our room overlooked the sea - I could sit in bed early in the morning and watch waves breaking on the shore. The decor of the rooms was very slightly dated but everything was clean and comfortable and the apartment was well-equipped. The staff were friendly and informative and very kind about allowing us to book in early. I'd thoroughly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Centipede100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Stayed for four nights during October for a break during hectic rugby world cup schedule.Excellent room,comfortable,clean and spacious,hosts prepared everything for post midnight arrival,very welcoming.Metres from the sea front,across main road but not an issue as road is not a main thoroughfare,leads to seal colony.Stayed at many excellent places during our trip but my wife rates this as her favourite.Easy access to all amenities.

Room Tip: Request room which looks out ver the sea and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

On the sea front,10 minute walk from Restaurants, 15 minute walk to town and 30 minutes to Seal colony. Great rooms, with everything you need and very well kept. Great help from hosts, especially on best bar to watch the Rugby.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldhippy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This is a great place to stay.

It's right on the beach in Kaikoura so you can sit in your room and watch whales playing in the bay - that is special.

Also the rooms are very generously sized, like new, with very helpful hosts. They provided some great advice for eating out.

I'm a big fan and will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 171,959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.5 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#13 of 20 in Kaikoura
115 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
712 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn Motel

Address: 208 Esplanade | Cnr Margate Street, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kaikoura
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#2 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range: £95 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anchor Inn Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Inn is a modern and stylish motel superbly situated on the Kaikoura waterfront with most rooms enjoying magnificent views of the Pacific Ocean and the stunning Kaikoura Ranges.Our award-winning motel offers a range of studios and family units which are spacious and well-appointed, fully self-contained, climate controlled and double-glazed for your total comfort and enjoyment.The Anchor Inn holds a 4+ Qualmark star rating and a Tripadvisor certificate of excellence.We provide a guest laundry, wireless internet, Sky's 50+ channels and an extensive DVD library. Secure off-street parking is provided in our enclosed courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Kaikoura
Anchor Motel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing