We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived up to the great TA Reviews”
Review of Anchor Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchor Inn Motel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lived up to the great TA Reviews”
Reviewed 14 April 2008

This “best motel in NZ” for 4 years straight, rated #1 on TA lived up to its reputation. It was perfectly located out of the bustle of the downtown, with clean tidy room with kitchenette looking right across to the ocean. We had a terrific walk along the top of the cliffs for about an hour, and could see a lot of dolphins close to shore, and whales spouting far away. This walk and view alone would be a reason to stop in Kaikoura, and the Anchor Inn was the best place to stay, in our opinion.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — No internet!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    98
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
70
222
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2008

The Anchor Inn is situated right on the sea front about 30 minutes walk from the centre of Kaikoura. The room was enormous and well equipped (kitchen, tv, dvd, wireless interenet), and would have been spacious for a family of 4. The staff were friendly and helpful, providing useful information about places to eat, attractions and the whale watching tours.
There's also a crayfish stall located just across the road from the motel, which does very nice takeaway seafood.
Make sure to close any windows before turning the lights on though, there are quite a lot of flies around at night.

  • Liked — The size of the room
  • Disliked — Distance to the town centre
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BristolRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2008

Positives:
Out host was great. She could not have been more helpful.
Lovely view from the room over the ocean
A little out of town so more peaceful.
Great to be able to borrow books or DVDs
Communal laundry was handy.
Had all the facalities

Negatives
Decor only ok - nothing very stylish.
Thought it was a little expensive for the price

Had an ok meal in the White Morph. The food was good but it lacked atmosphere. The decor was very dark. I would be unlikely to go again. It just felt drab!

  • Liked — View & front desk
  • Disliked — Cost was a little high
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mytuppenceworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2008

Property was pleasant, and on the sea front. The room was large with kitchen area and jacuzzi bath. Perfectly clean and pleasant and helpful staff. However, this place is expensive and I dont feel it was worth the money. It might be "new zealand's best motel" from a few years back, but it is expensive on the back of that, and there are probably other hotels in kaikoura that are better value for money.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank marcandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2007

Stayed at the Anchor Inn Motel mid November with my Husband.

Our room was excellent with Ocean views. It was well appointed and large with well-equipped kitchen and large bathroom. There were bathrobes and a spa bath to enjoy.

Lovely location and excellent facilities. The Motel has a laundry which you can utilise for free.

The Motel also has movie library if you wish to stay in.

The Owner gave us a map and a list of some local restaurants he recommended.

My husband was so impressed with the place that he left most of his six pack behind.

Would have like to stay longer.

  • Liked — The space and customer service
  • Disliked — Distance from shops
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peitafranky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2007

We stayed at the Anchor Inn for one night and we could have stayed forever! The room was lovely and our sliding glass door took us directly to the beach with the most amazing view of the snow capped mountains and bay. The owners are vey helpful and so kind! We will be going back!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank THarpCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2007

We only stayed for a night here before we went on our whale watch cruise. We had a spacious 2 bedroom apartment which we found spotlessly clean. We were right on the water front with lovely views, no-one could see in and we couldn't hear the traffic. There's A/C and heaters! It had everything we could possibly want although I would have preferred to have the bathroom upstairs with the bedrooms. My only minor crumble would be the settee in the lounge was not very comfortable. We were given recommendations as to where to eat by the friendly and helpful staff. In all a very pleasant stay.

  • Liked — The cleanliness and spa bath
  • Disliked — The settee was uncomfortable
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JOsieNZNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.5 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn Motel

Property: Anchor Inn Motel
Address: 208 Esplanade | Cnr Margate Street, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kaikoura
#2 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anchor Inn Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Inn is a modern and stylish motel superbly situated on the Kaikoura waterfront with most rooms enjoying magnificent views of the Pacific Ocean and the stunning Kaikoura Ranges.Our award-winning motel offers a range of studios and family units which are spacious and well-appointed, fully self-contained, climate controlled and double-glazed for your total comfort and enjoyment.The Anchor Inn holds a 4+ Qualmark star rating and a Tripadvisor certificate of excellence.We provide a guest laundry, wireless internet, Sky's 50+ channels and an extensive DVD library. Secure off-street parking is provided in our enclosed courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Kaikoura
Anchor Motel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing