We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We keep coming back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchor Inn Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchor Inn Motel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
122 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“We keep coming back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Kaikoura is a favourite of ours and Anchor Inn is the place we have chosen to stay on many occasions. The location is great, close enough to walk to town or our favourite restaurant "The Green Dolphin" - see review - and easy distance to take the walk up over the hill to South Bay over Dempseys Track. The hosts are friendly without ever being intrusive and free Wifi is available. A great place to stay and somewhere we will keep coming back to again and again!

Room Tip: If you want sea views they have rooms at the front, but if you want somewhere more private away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    98
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
70
222
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I had previously stayed here with a group in Feb 2013, so knew it was a nice place to stop for the night. The hostess was ever so friendly and the room and view excellent. Would love to stay longer next time.

Room Tip: The double glazed windows meant the sea noise didn't keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HamishLink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here for just 1 night in July this year as part of self-drive tour through New Zealand. The room was one of the best we'd had on our honeymoon, comfiest bed and best bath! We had a beach-front room and the view was just out of this world! I must say the hospitality is what made the place though - I even got a hug off Josephine the owner when I was freaking out about a small earthquake, lol. All in all a wonderful stay and we'd love to return again. Only thing I'd add is that it would be nice if they did breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PPCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
252 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

This was our second stay at The Anchor Inn and it was as good as the last. The location is great - right on the waterfront in Kaikoura - and the rooms are spacious and nicely done. The owners are delightfully friendly and welcoming and care about every guest like you are old friends. We use Kaikoura as an overnight stop on the way north so these are brief stays but should we decide to have a few days stay in the area to go whale watching or simply hang out on the esplanade then this is the place we will be choosing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anwil51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
185 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at the Anchor Inn for the second time and enjoyed it as much. Unfortunately it was only an overnight stopover but we contemplating coming back here for a few days! This is one of the few hotels that has most rooms overlooking the sea. And not only do they overlook the sea but you have a glass door that leads onto a small ground-floor deck so you can sit outside and enjoy the view. The rooms are very large and very comfortable with every convenience you could need. They also have a kitchenette.

We walked to a nearby restaurant in the evening (The Dolphin) which is also highly recommended. You simply don't need to look any further - if you need a fab place to stay in Kaikoura, this is it! We'll be back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 11 - on the front corner of the hotel which made it slightly bigger and with windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MishasVineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

I stayed here for the last 2 nights of a 12 day trip around the South Island and it was the perfect way to finish off my holiday. This motel is very lovely and spacious, with a perfect view and door front access to the sea front. I hadn't pre booked and was a bit embarrassed having asked to see the room before I accepted, as it was quite a pretty room and so spacious - very luxurious. The owners were very helpful and friendly and I enjoyed a very relaxing stay in Kaikoura. It's just a little out of the main strip of town, but not at all far and much better for the sea front location. Has it's own kitchenette and very professionally maintained with not just the view of the sea front but the gorgeous mountains nearby. Highly recommend,

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We had one of the roomy two level apartments and found it good to stretch out. The location is very good with stunning views across the water to the mountains. Only hope for good weather. Management were very co-operative, only thing was that the bathroom was downstairs yet the bedrooms were upstairs. Overall very hard to fault.....and Kaikoura is a nice little town also.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank arborictraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.5 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#14 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn Motel

Property: Anchor Inn Motel
Address: 208 Esplanade | Cnr Margate Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kaikoura
#2 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anchor Inn Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Inn is a modern and stylish motel superbly situated on the Kaikoura waterfront with most rooms enjoying magnificent views of the Pacific Ocean and the stunning Kaikoura Ranges.Our award-winning motel offers a range of studios and family units which are spacious and well-appointed, fully self-contained, climate controlled and double-glazed for your total comfort and enjoyment.The Anchor Inn holds a 4+ Qualmark star rating and a Tripadvisor certificate of excellence.We provide a guest laundry, wireless internet, Sky's 50+ channels and an extensive DVD library. Secure off-street parking is provided in our enclosed courtyard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Kaikoura
Anchor Motel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing