We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel with a great beach across the street.”
Review of Anchor Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchor Inn Motel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice motel with a great beach across the street.”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

The Anchor Inn met all of our expectations. The rooms are a little spartan, but everything is clean and very comfortable. It looks brand new, but I understand that it isn't. The hotel is just a few steps away from the beach and I went out and took some beautiful pictures. Some reviews I saw complained about noise from the road but I didn't hear anything. Besides, there is very little traffic there. There isn't any food available on site, and you are a ways from the center of town, but you can walk to several restaurants in the area, or have food delivered. We didn't have a car since we had taken the train from Picton and were getting back on the train after the whale watching. They were also nice enough to give us a ride to the train station the next morning, saving us a taxi fare. If you are doing the whale watching trip, it leaves from the train station and you can leave your luggage there while you are on the boat, and then get on the train upon your return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    98
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
70
222
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed one night, excellent views, well stocked kitchenette, clean, great shower, friendly and helpful owners. We had checked out but despite this Pauline offered to lend us towels for the dolphin swimming trip, which in he end was cancelled due to poor weather. However we went for a swim in the large outdoor pool near the motel. Thank you,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The accommodation, the location, the free Wifi and all possible tv stations including Sky make this motel a place to stay for couples, solo, or families but price is acceptable but up there with the best when you look at other paces we stayed in from Auckland to Akoroa and then to zchristchurch. The service here is brilliant and nothing is too much to ask. You need to book well in advance if you want one of the front rooms which basically has the ocean as its front yard.

Room Tip: There are plenty of restaurants and pubs around and within walking distance but a car makes it a 5 m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimate, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

What welcoming hosts Keith and Pauline are!
The Anchor Inn is sea front just 5 mins walk from the main shops. Many hotels to chose from in this seafront strip but if you want hosts who are friendly and do their best to be helpful and give great recommendations for eating out etc, stay here.
I booked the hotel for 3 couples as we hopped onto the Ferry in Wellington at 3 pm. Keith squeezed us in at very short notice and gave us adjacent rooms. If I was staying for a longer holiday I would love to have a sea front room. However at such short notice we were lucky to get any rooms. We stayed in a studio unit and a one bedroom unit with 2 singles in the bedroom and a Queen bed in the lounge. This would be ideal for a family with 2 children. Good bathroom with a separate toilet which is handy.
Very quiet motels. Very little traffic as the esplanade is away from the through roads.
Keith and Pauline genuinely like people and obviously love what they do. Hosts like this are few and far between. I would highly recommend staying here.
Very reasonably priced too.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mcfarmer7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My wife and I had a delightful stay in this delightful motel looking over the South Pacific. We stayed at the motel for 5 nights and brought in 2014 at the Anchor Inn. Everything was first class at the motel and our hosts were a delightful couple. Our walk from the seal colony to the South Bay was fantastic. The highlight of the trip was our whale watching experience, an absolute must thing to do. Kaikoura is not just about whale watching, lots of other things to do and I even had nine holes at the local golf club, very picturesque although it did rain. This was a really great place to end the year and start a new one and would recommend this motel to all travellers and the town itself.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Very welcoming helpful hosts with helpful advice and info of the area. The room was fabulous, spacious, clean, quiet - all you could wish for. Walking the peninsula is beautiful and the motel compliments the whole experience of the area. Good Wi-Fi and great location and well priced.

Room Tip: Couldn't ask for more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed for two nights over Christmas and as other reviewers have said, were delighted with our room and the facilities. Pauline and Keith are perfect hosts and we came away wondering if running a B&B on the beach at Kaikoura would be a far better alternative to our desk jobs in Singapore!

Stay here, great rooms, fabulous views and brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMoores58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.5 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#14 of 20 in Kaikoura
111 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
712 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn Motel

Property: Anchor Inn Motel
Address: 208 Esplanade | Cnr Margate Street, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kaikoura
#2 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anchor Inn Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Inn is a modern and stylish motel superbly situated on the Kaikoura waterfront with most rooms enjoying magnificent views of the Pacific Ocean and the stunning Kaikoura Ranges.Our award-winning motel offers a range of studios and family units which are spacious and well-appointed, fully self-contained, climate controlled and double-glazed for your total comfort and enjoyment.The Anchor Inn holds a 4+ Qualmark star rating and a Tripadvisor certificate of excellence.We provide a guest laundry, wireless internet, Sky's 50+ channels and an extensive DVD library. Secure off-street parking is provided in our enclosed courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Kaikoura
Anchor Motel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing