We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stop-over”
Review of Anchor Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anchor Inn Motel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We went to Kaikoura to go whale watching before moving on, as such all we needed was a quiet comfortable place to sleep for the night. The Anchor satisfied this well. It is similar to a UK Travelodge but with friendly helpful owners. There is a laundry on site to catch up on the washing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alecver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

We splashed out on a sea view room which was well worth it, though we didn't have the best of the weather. We had a nice big, clean room with kitchen facilities. Owners were very friendly and provided towels when we went on the seal swim. We didn't have a car so it was quite a long walk into the main part of town, but we knew this when we booked. On the plus side though it meant we could walk to the seal colony which is that end of the peninsula.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxonBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Paid extra for sea view, we'll worth it. Lovely to be able to cross the road and on the beach. The view was large, comfortable and we'll equipped. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Only wish we had had time to stay longer.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank river_tigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Very bright and welcoming with its yellow facade the hosts were just as bright and friendly. We spent 3 nights here and it was a little cramped for that long but that was our choice. The rooms are refreshed daily and we were able to prepare a meal and provide our own breakfast needs. The bed was king size and extremely comfortable and there was a small couch in the room. The room overlooked the water and it was great going to sleep with the sound of waves across the road. There is a guest laundry which was handy after 4 days of constant moving.

Room Tip: The rooms on the Main Street look over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Anchor Inn is an older motel that has been well restored and updated just outside Kaikoura. The rooms meet today's standards (like Hampton Inn or Courtyard), and the location across the road from the beach is excellent. Wifi was free, but the log-in screen kept interrupting us every few minutes and made us think that we were about to be charged, even though we weren't. The continental breakfast is delivered to the room based on a menu filled in the night before. The motel does not have a dining room and does not offer a hot breakfast. Our "upgraded" room did have a small kitchen, so the Anchor Inn would be good for those who want to cook a bit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed only one night, but the proprietors were very friendly and helpful, the location was fine, and the room was clean and comfortable. It's nice to be able to just wander across the street to the waterfront, not to mention the ice cream stand across the street.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wymanz2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We chose to pay extra for a sea view which was worth it when we woke up in the morning to a blue sky and sea! The motel is right on the road but at far end of town so not noisy. Our room was on the corner and one of the largest we had whilst in motels on the South Island. Big bonus it had Jacuzzi bath and the room was well finished. In our room, which was on the far corner from reception, I think it was room 11, the wifi did not work so we had to use the wifi in reception. Manager and reception staff were friendly. Worth noting that it is a little way into the centre if you want to eat out for breakfast , but easily walkable if you have the time.
Would like to go back and if we do we will book into the Anchor Inn.

Room Tip: Had the corner room further from reception. Think it was number 11 would definitely recommend as lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.5 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#13 of 20 in Kaikoura
115 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
712 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn Motel

Address: 208 Esplanade | Cnr Margate Street, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kaikoura
#2 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range: £95 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Anchor Inn Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Inn is a modern and stylish motel superbly situated on the Kaikoura waterfront with most rooms enjoying magnificent views of the Pacific Ocean and the stunning Kaikoura Ranges.Our award-winning motel offers a range of studios and family units which are spacious and well-appointed, fully self-contained, climate controlled and double-glazed for your total comfort and enjoyment.The Anchor Inn holds a 4+ Qualmark star rating and a Tripadvisor certificate of excellence.We provide a guest laundry, wireless internet, Sky's 50+ channels and an extensive DVD library. Secure off-street parking is provided in our enclosed courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Kaikoura
Anchor Motel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing