We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome tour”
Review of Whale Watch

Whale Watch
Ranked #5 of 27 Tours in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: "THE ULTIMATE MARINE EXPERIENCE" Whale Watch is New Zealand's only marine based Whale watching company offering exciting up-close encounter with the world's largest toothed predator the Giant Sperm Whale in their natural environment at all times of the year, our 95% success rate means we guarantee an 80% refund if your tour does not see a whale.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Excellent tour. In Holland you only can find seals! On this trip we were lucky to see three whales. My two kids and myself were very much impressed. And the guides were very nice and gave us much extra information.
Henry from Holland.

1  Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaiksbondy, Manager at Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Kia Ora Henry, thank you for sharing about your time with us, it sounds like you and your children had a wonderful experience. Hope you managed to get some great photos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

902 - 906 of 1,673 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed overnight with a train stop over from Picton to Ch-Ch just for this tour, glad we did! They were accommodating with a schedule change we needed to make, excellent and knowledgeable staff. We'd seen dolphins before, but never this many or so playful! Also a group of seals with pups, and several albatross close up. We saw 2 whales, actually the same one twice they told us.
Warning to anyone at all prone to seasickness: Your trip may be ruined if you don't listen to the staff's instruction on how to avoid it. I have gotten sick on small boats and was worried, but I followed their instructions and was fine.
The only criticism I would have is the price of the food and other items in the gift shop was high. Eat and shop elsewhere.

Thank Virginia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaiksbondy, Manager at Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share about your experience with us, It is so great that it worked out for your to sail with us, it sounds like you managed to see some beautiful marine life. We appreciate your feedback in regards to our cafe and retail shop, these comments have been passed on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very well option, all great, we have good sperm whale observation,the point is that the observation area was near the coast and then you do not have to travel lots of miles form the coast and not to risk to very rough seas in normal conditions, as in our case. The mountains near you are good as a photo background.

Thank Parejaconbotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaiksbondy, Manager at Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

So glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us, isn't the view from out at sea so beautiful? Thanks for your feedback :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We drove from Chch to Kaikoura especially for this tour. I am sorry to say but it was just not worth our time or money. We saw a whale for 20 seconds and it disappeared underwater straight away. I just feel like we deserved a refund because that was not even counted a sighting! We saw seals, but I really wanted to see a whale. Just did not meet my expectations.the staff were very friendly and professional though.

1  Thank TheJojoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaiksbondy, Manager at Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We are sorry that your time with us did not meet your expectations, we appreciate you taking the time to share about your tour experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Dramatic enough for you? It really did. You are promised seeing one whale or your money back, which I think is quite reasonable. We saw FOUR!!! Along with a pod of playful, acrobatic dusky dolphins, the small Hector's dolphins, 2 albatross and the beauty of the sea and Kaikoura canyon. There was a moment after the third whale went under, right after we saw the dusky dolphins and albatross, that I was literally moved to tears from the majesty of these beautiful creatures. The enormity of the whales. The intelligence and gracefulness of the dolphins. It shows you the true meaning of the word "awe".

Here's a tip - if you are lucky enough to see more than one whale, take all your photos for the first one. Then put it away and just watch the second. It will transform you.

The Maori staff were fantastic, sharing their wealth of knowledge about the whales and ecosystem, along with showing videos. Haven taken the dolphin swim the day before, I couldn't help but note the contrast in educational opportunities.

Book well in advance for summer months!

Also sit in the back of the boat if you are prone to sea sickness.

Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaiksbondy, Manager at Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

It really is so wonderful to hear that your time with us was so special and life changing. We are so blessed to have such a variety of marine life off our coastline, it is wonderful you managed to see such a wide variety while with us. Thank you so much, hope you managed to get some great photos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whale Watch also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing