We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whale Watch Kaikoura”

Whale Watch Kaikoura
Book In Advance
More Info
US$105.98*
and up
Whale Watching in Kaikoura by boat
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: "THE ULTIMATE MARINE EXPERIENCE" Whale Watch is New Zealand's only marine based Whale watching company offering exciting up-close encounter with the world's largest toothed predator the Giant Sperm Whale in their natural environment at all times of the year, our 95% success rate means we guarantee an 80% refund if your tour does not see a whale.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 27 May 2014

What an amazing afternoon spent on the water. All the team at whale Watch are friendly, professional & have a great sense of humour. It was such an awesome experience being able to see these majestic creatures + the pod of 150 or so dolphins, seals etc. it really was amazing and I would definitely recommend.
My only tip would be, even if you don't think you'll get sea sick, take a sea sick pill. They sell these in the shop for $3 and they are completely natural & non drowsy. This will make your trip and everyone else's on board more enjoyable :)

Thank Dionne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaiksbondy, Manager at Whale Watch Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback and its great to hear you enjoyed your time with us, good tip about the sea sickness pill especially if you don't take kindly to the motion of the ocean. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"whale watch"
in 206 reviews
"sperm whales"
in 465 reviews
"sea sickness"
in 222 reviews
"comfortable boat"
in 18 reviews
"sick bags"
in 17 reviews
"whale tail"
in 17 reviews
"great trip"
in 76 reviews
"cancelled due"
in 48 reviews
"rough seas"
in 38 reviews
"sea legs"
in 18 reviews
"snails"
in 31 reviews
"new zealand"
in 96 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 49 reviews
"marine life"
in 43 reviews
"hector dolphins"
in 23 reviews
"fantastic experience"
in 49 reviews
"bad weather"
in 25 reviews
Filter

1,103 - 1,107 of 1,924 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

A pretty special adventure and must do if in the area. One of the few places to see a sperm whale and other marine mammals. The dusky dolphins put on a spectacular show for everyone on-board. Best advice: take precautions against sea sickness and choose a day with good weather.

Thank CrypticMinxii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaiksbondy, Manager at Whale Watch Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thanks so much for sharing about your time with us, it sounds like you had a fantastic time on your tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I have wanted to do this trip for years, so was happy when I got the chance to go. Our weather was as perfect as possible, the staff & crew were all wonderful ambassadors for the NZ tourism industry & the whole operation was very well run from start to finish. However, I found the actual whale encounters kind of dull. Having watched many shots of whales breaching in a dramatic & acrobatic fashion on tv, www etc. I guess I was expecting the same thing in Kaikoura. Sadly though we have a totally different breed of whale here. Whilst we did see two sperm whales (thanks to a lot of hard work by the crew) they just kind of bobbed on the surface for a few minutes before slipping under the water again. It was a little like watching a log bobbing on the surface. The trip itself was ok & I am glad that I went, but just be aware of what you may get for your money to save being disappointed.

1  Thank KiwiDragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaiksbondy, Manager at Whale Watch Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback and suggestion in regards to coming with built up expectations. What you see on TV documentaries take hours if not days of filming to capture that footage. When we go out we are entering into the whales natural environment and are blessed with what we get to see in the time we have. Thanks again we appreciate you taking the time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Excellent tour. In Holland you only can find seals! On this trip we were lucky to see three whales. My two kids and myself were very much impressed. And the guides were very nice and gave us much extra information.
Henry from Holland.

1  Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaiksbondy, Manager at Whale Watch Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Kia Ora Henry, thank you for sharing about your time with us, it sounds like you and your children had a wonderful experience. Hope you managed to get some great photos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed overnight with a train stop over from Picton to Ch-Ch just for this tour, glad we did! They were accommodating with a schedule change we needed to make, excellent and knowledgeable staff. We'd seen dolphins before, but never this many or so playful! Also a group of seals with pups, and several albatross close up. We saw 2 whales, actually the same one twice they told us.
Warning to anyone at all prone to seasickness: Your trip may be ruined if you don't listen to the staff's instruction on how to avoid it. I have gotten sick on small boats and was worried, but I followed their instructions and was fine.
The only criticism I would have is the price of the food and other items in the gift shop was high. Eat and shop elsewhere.

Thank Virginia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaiksbondy, Manager at Whale Watch Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share about your experience with us, It is so great that it worked out for your to sail with us, it sounds like you managed to see some beautiful marine life. We appreciate your feedback in regards to our cafe and retail shop, these comments have been passed on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whale Watch Kaikoura also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Whale Watch Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing