We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hapuku Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$152
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral Court Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Seas Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$93
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$61
US$58
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$157
US$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panorama Motel(Kaikoura)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
266
40
9
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
40
9
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree housedeer farmtreehouse roomolive grovesbreakfast and dinnermaster chefvenisonnew zealandamazing treeour honeymoonsitting arealog burnerstunning placedietary requirementsoverlooking the mountainsamazing viewssnow capped mountains
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We were upgraded to a Lodge Suite, which was beautifully appointed. We should have stayed longer to fully appreciate all the amenities. It is in a wonderful location and the tree houses look amazing. The food was excellent and the local house wine too. Tony, the Manager was exceptional with the service and courtesy to guests.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

It was cold and raining when we arrived but when we entered our tree house it could have been 6 feet of snow for all we cared. The fire was lit, the heated bathroom floor was on and a bottle of sparkling wine was sitting in an ice bucket at the end of the bed. In the fridge were complimentary beers and juices. The architecture and interior design of these tree houses is amazing. The bed was vast and the pillows wonderful. The room had two views, one towards the mountains over the paddock full of deer and the other towards the ocean over the olive grove. The room, in a word, is luxurious with spa bath and separate shower and a sitting area around the fire. We had chosen the dinner and breakfast inclusive package and both were excellent. In the morning the sun was shining and so were we!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yungkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We were greeted by Anika, who instantly made us feel very welcome. Our room was located in the main lodge which was just perfect with a lovely view of the mountains at the back. The Japanese bath was delightful.
First night we decided to eat at the restaurant and whilst Tony did his best it did lack a little ‘atmosphere’. The food was presented really well.
There is no room service and all staff seem to have left the building at 11pm – but you can call a number if you require.
The positives are:
Amazing bed
Friendly staff
Beautiful View
Clean
Pool is super but you need to look for towels!
Lovely breakfasts

The negatives are:
Drinks not offered when sitting in lounge
No room service
No atmosphere in Restaurant, it felt quite stilted
Overall Hapuku Lodge is a really lovely find for couples, not ideal to take children. However do feel that this is a one to two night stay only.
A nice touch was receiving a mail from Anika after we had left wishing a safe trip. Will certainly look to book again if in NZ.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chappells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This was our second stay at Hapuku Lodge and it was even better than the first, if that's possible. The location is spectacular and when the weather is good, the views are to die for!! The lodge itself is very comfortable without being pretentious. The staff was attentive and seemed to really care about guest satisfaction. The bed and pillows made for great sleep....it was hard to get up for breakfast! The selection at breakfast is wonderful and the waffles were very delicious. We left very satisfied and wanting to return for more!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iknowwhatilike_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We spent part of our honeymoon in one of the tree houses at Hapuku. It was a fantastic and unique experience! We walked up the stairs to our own private tree house room with a fantastic layout and views of the mountains, the Pacific ocean, and a view of the lodge's olive tree grove and their sheep. The Hapuku Lodge was very romantic. The dinner we enjoyed at the lodge was incredible, and the staff there was very accommodating and kind. Most of the food and drinks we consumed were provided by the surrounding property and it was all fresh and delicious. If you are going to stay in Kaikoura, you have to stay at the Hapuku Lodge and enjoy a unique and incredible experience by staying in one of their tree houses. You will have a great time enjoying the tranquil and natural setting with amazing accommodations.

Room Tip: Tree house!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews