We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place to stay.”
Review of Hapuku Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hapuku Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed in one of the tree houses and they are stunning. One of the best rooms we have ever stayed in, with fantastic views, fireplace in the room and a deck for looking into the very dark night sky.
The on site management team bent over backwards to give us the best service possible and the food was absolutely top notch.
We would highly recommend this luxury resort as a great sot in NZ.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

2/28/14-This place just blew my hubby away...as we walked into our upper branch tree house the iPod was playing our favorite jazz music. The views of mountains, olive orchards, deer farm and the Pacific peaking at the back edges were all so captivating. The food at the main lodge was fantastic (ask for chefs seating for a great show) The temp fell that night and hubby made a "real" fire and said he hadn't relaxed like that in ages. I agreed as I fell asleep in the comfy bed to awaken to a stunning sunrise. His first question was "please tell me we're here more than one night!" We booked two thankfully or we'd have felt so robbed. We will be back again and prob 3 night minimum next time.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jazzlover2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed two night in one of the tree houses.
Wow, I had seen the hotel on a trip advisor top ten tree house hotels of the world and decided I wanted to stay.
Good idea and thank you trip advisor. It was an expensive treat but then it had cost a fortune to get to New Zealand anyway.
Everything was excellent from start to finish. Warm welcome at reception and then shown to our room. The rooms are truly spectacular, recliners and wood burning stove looking at the mountains and jacuzzi bath facing the ocean. Well stocked mini bar included so you can enjoy a glass of wine in the jacuzzi!
There is great attention to detail in the rooms even a Bose alarm clock.
To cap it all it had rained overnight so when we woke to a sunny morning the mountains were snow capped.
The restaurant and service were good, to be picky the food could have been better. The staff however were lovely.
I'm glad we splashed out and stayed. We also saw 2 whales on the whale watching cruise, if we'd seen dolphins it would have been perfect.

Room Tip: Stay in a tree house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizEaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

What a place - truly awesome and a must stay for whale watchers. The architects have done such a good job here with high quality materials. The views (sea and mountains) are stunning. Sunrise and sundown both gorgeous.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boabster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed towards the end of an amazing Christmas & NY trip to North & South Island. We spent our first night in one of the tree houses & the second in the main house . Both were excellent . The this is a very relaxing stay in a great spot with a stunning mountainous backdrop. The owners are husband & wife Chris & Fiona and they have a great well run set up, with a very helpful & friendly team supporting them. Fiona leads in the kitchen & the food is truly fabulous, with a great wine list too! Thank you all for a very memorable stay.

Room Tip: Try staying In a treehouse & a the best room in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamsyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

In our three weeks in New Zealand, I don't think anything approached the luxury of Hapuku Lodge. Everything is tended to here, down to the last detail. The service is top-notch, the food is spectacular, and the views may be the most stunning views I saw in New Zealand.

Of course, there's supply and demand, and staying at Hapuku Lodge comes at cost that may surprise you. You may want to keep in mind that breakfast and dinner are included, but even then you're paying close to what you'd pay at the Ritz-Carlton. Unlike the Ritz-Carlton, however, you're privately nestled in-between a mountain range and the ocean.

My wife and I absolutely loved staying in a treehouse for our Honeymoon, and if you're looking for an extra-special place to stay this is it. If you're mulling over the cost though, New Zealand has a ton of memorable places to stay that won't break the bank.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HikinAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

If you're like us you won't be able to stay for long - as it certainly isn't cheap - but what it is is unique and outstanding. The view back to the mountains from the top floor of our "family" (two story) tree house was breathtaking. The tree house itself was wonderful - beautifully designed and appointed. The dinner was as good as it gets. Possibly a "once in a lifetime" experience for many of us but still an experience well worth having.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petro_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
7.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
357 reviews
7.1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.1 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.6 mi away
The Factory
The Factory
#2 of 32 in Kaikoura
161 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Fairways
The Fairways
#5 of 36 in Kaikoura
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hapuku Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hapuku Lodge

Address: State Highway 1 At Station Road, RD 1, Kaikoura 7371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range: £507 - £2,358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hapuku Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hapuku Lodge and Tree Houses is distinctive boutique luxury accommodation set on a deer farm and olive grove in one of the world's most beautiful locations, between the Kaikoura Mountains and the Pacific Coast of New Zealand's South Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hapuku Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hapuku Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing