We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hapuku Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Blue Seas Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveller rating
268
40
9
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
40
9
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree housedeer farmtreehouse roomolive grovesbreakfast and dinnermaster chefvenisonnew zealandamazing treeour honeymoonsitting arealog burnerstunning placedietary requirementsoverlooking the mountainsamazing viewssnow capped mountains
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 327 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights, however I wish it was longer! The food is amazing, the staff very friendly and helpful and the treehouse is spectacular. No complaints, only compliments.

The complimentary biscuits and mini bar are just the first of many small touches which make this trip amazing. I didn't want to leave the room go to around Kaikoura.

This is a must stay if you are in the area. It should be ranked #1.

Re other guests comments - there was no noise from the stags once you get in your room.

Room Tip: Any of the tree houses.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rarotraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

After driving more than 2 hours in a terrible storm from Christchurch, the Hapuku Lodge was a welcome sight. We were welcomed with open arms and showed to our huge room. The room was nicely appointed with snacks and wine. The bathroom was beautiful. We wished we would have been able to see the mountains behind the lodge but they were completely obscured by the clouds. Dinner and breakfast were wonderful. Hated that we were only able to stay one night. The staff was especially helpful the morning we left to make sure the roads were safe to travel after the storm.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was a 2-day splurge, on our 25-year anniversary, 3-week tour of New Zealand and it was everything we hoped for. Private, intimate, peaceful and luxurious. You have to know that everything about this resort is sublime. We kept noticing new details each day and loved all the custom woodwork. There is something special about knowing you are nestled high in a grove of native Manuka trees and that local people crafted the furniture around you. And it was especially important to us that they are invested in the environment of New Zealand and follow green practices.

We stayed in one of the Tree Houses, which is lofted up in the air on serious, hidden metal beams that are sunk into concrete and encased by solid rock, (in case you are concerned). We were jokingly told if there were to be a tsunami that everyone would be joining us. You do climb a flight of stairs to get to it, not a problem for us. Stairs are wide, sturdy and accessible and Chris will carry your luggage if you let him.

Each Tree House has an expansive view of the Seaward Kaikouras (soaked them in while enjoying a glass of wine while a fire crackled away in the wood-burning stove) - and your full, heated floor, glass-walled shower gives sweeping views of the olive orchard with the sea beyond. You stand in the middle of the Tree House and feel as if you are surrounded by nature. It has everything you need and very comfortable beds. Loved that there was an ipod for music, that lights could be dimmed, and though the views were fantastic – it was good to be able to pull curtains for privacy around the sleeping area, though we did leave them wide when the moon was over the mountain. We appreciated the hot tub after a long day hiking and complimentary wine and cookies! The breakfast and dinners provided are 5 star with locally sourced ingredients.

By an unusual chance, we were the only people at the resort on our 2nd night (a Monday) and as such were offered a complimentary chef experience to celebrate our anniversary. This was a highlight of our stay! We sat at the counter across from our chef Ainsley as she prepared an amazing venison dinner. We loved the getting to know her, hearing about her life and sharing stories. She also taught us how to prepare venison. Mike, who ran the bar was also was part of this evening and we both truly enjoyed him. Very friendly and made us laugh. And though he claims he’s never been told so, reminded us of Martin Freeman.

Can’t say enough about Chris and his commitment to excellence. The whole stay was just magical. From our windy arrival and the moodiness of the clouds on the mountain, to the call of the bucks at night (the resort is home to a deer farm), to our 2nd moonlit, calm evening. Is there any room for improvement? We appreciated the large jars of shampoo, conditioner and body wash provided and that they are environmentally friendly, but if we were to add anything it might be a dispenser of body lotion. That is a small detail and more like suggesting that a box of tissue might be useful in the Taj Mahal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKandAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Absolutely fantastic!!! Scores 10 out of 5 at least in our opinion! We were welcomed on arrival, shown around, and shown to our tree house. Wow - what an experience! Lovely room, with views of the mountains and the olive grove, with the sea in the distance. Classical music playing when we opened the door. Complimentary bottle of wine in the fridge, fresh baked cookies, huge bed, spa bath, rainforest shower, balcony - every single detail was fabulous!
Outside there was a swimming pool and lovely grounds, and of course the restaurant serving top quality food each day.
A fitting end to our honeymoon!
The only negatives in our opinion were the offer of 300 DVDs (what on earth would you want them for in this location?!) and (more seriously) people being allowed to smoke outside the restaurant.

Room Tip: Go for Kereru - we're sure it has the best views!!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebin16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Because a mistake of the resort booking system, we could not sleep in a tree top the 1st night (they offered the diner to our group of 6 to forgive...) bur then we went up in the tree top rooms. Very original, rustic but beautiful and large room and bath room.
We took 2 diners there and the food was absolutely delicious, as weel as the wine list with excellent choice.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank jcrlierru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews