We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms and excellent food”
Review of Hapuku Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hapuku Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2009

A one night stay in early February in the lodge itself rather than the tree houses. The lodge is very comfortable with very spacious rooms. We ate in the lodge at night – inclusive pre-dinner drinks and excellent food, if a little formal. Situated a brief car ride from Kaikoura itself. Would like to have stayed longer. Free wireless internet.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabyBoomerCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2009

We stayed for 1 night in one of the treehouse lodges. There were numerous perks in the room- heated floors in the bathroom, jacuzzi bath, shower overlooking the farmland and ocean, ipod dock including ipod loaded with music, TV with DVD player and DVD rental avalable in the main lodge, in-room fireplace with logs already loaded up, mini-bar, tea-kettle, I could go on and on. The views from the room were magnificent- you could feel like you're totally isolated with all the amenities of modern life. The continental breafast was what you would expect and the dinner was excellent!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redpandachicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2009

I apologise for this review being a little late. My husband and i stayed here for 2 nights in August during very inclement weather. We very nearly didn't get there as the weather was so atrocious and there were landslides everywhere. We were so pleased that we made it because it was gorgeous. We had a room in the main building which was warm, luxurious and the view was spectacular . I pod player in the room, filtered water, underfloor heating. It was so comforting after being on the road for hours driving in gusting winds and horizontal rain.
We were made to feel very welcome and decided to eat there both nights. The food was excellent and the wine list impressive. The manager couldn't do enough for us. He even found out that my husbnad loves cheese so went out of his way to find some interesting local cheeses for him the second night we were there.

There is a deer farm next to the lodge. Their "pet" deer ,Marie is very friendly and nosy. She will come up to you on the look out for food but as they are normally such shy animals it was quite endearing. We did not have any problems with smells or flies but I suppose that was due to the cold weather. Quite glad about that! Some consolation for being cold and wet most of the time.

Many of our compatriots were stranded at the lodge beacuse of the blocked roads. if you're going to be stranded anywhere then this is the place to be. The decor is tasteful and stylish the log fire is comforting and cosy. I would recommend this place to anyone as a haven in a mad world.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aranwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2009

We loved this place from the second we arrived. Yes it is more expensive than some of the other local accommodation but what a treat to spend 5 nights in a tree house. But no ordinary tree house, it was so well designed and equipped, we loved it. The staff were so friendly and could not do enough to help us. Lee put together a 5 day itinery for us and for most things just charged to the room so we just had to pay for all our trips etc on check out.
The eveing meal was superb.
This is a must stay place.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Angelica1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2008

The lodge was infested with big blowflies throughout that weren't being dealt with, brought about by the deer farm on which it's located. This causes the whole place to smell of deer scatt!

There is no air conditioning and it was boiling hot (28 degrees plus).

My Queen room faced the mountains (so beautiful view) but also the deer enclosure which bore significant traces of where deer had been (literally) - as the day heated up, the smell pervaded my room.

At night (around 10pm) once the heat of the day had subsided !!! - the temperature, with the windows flung wide open all night, was just about bearable. However, sleep was made almost impossible by heavy goods vehicles pulling containers thundering down the road at the side of the property all night

No alternative accomodation or fan was offered.

At the very least, they could buy a chiller for the room, keep the windows and curtains closed durintg the day and spray for flies.

But should I have to say this to a lodge charging top dollar?

The management needs to think again. Perhaps the recession in the UK and the US will cause them to as bookings slow...

Stayed: December 2008
3  Thank quentinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2008

Rooms are extremely good, but our 'tree house' had a few problems that were inexcusable for a 5* - such as no curtains in one of the rooms (and to be told by the staff that the curtains were on order was just ridiculous bearing in mind how long Hapuku Lodge has been open)...and the fireplace not working...just not what you expect from a 5*...

The welcome was really good on arrival, but when we complained about the lack of curtains and non-working fireplace, we had to suggest a 'solution' to have our other party move to another room!...which was a shame as we all wanted to be together...

The food was AWFUL...don't bother eating in the restaurant...it is really poor.... the duck was chewy, the appetizer tasteless and the dessert too (the fish was average at best)... a brief listen in to various conversations around the restaurant (which was almost empty) did reveal other complaints... the hotel was full and only 3 other tables were eating in the restaurant - 2 seemed unhappy...

VERY unfortunate... but the view from the treehouse and the main room in the treehouse were both excellent...

We have eaten in top star restaurants all around the world and this didn't even come close to any *'s at all....totally mismatched to the best aspects of the property and the manager's response to us was "you have your own opinion" - he appeared to be young and inexperienced to be dealing with the problems here...I hope sometone turns this place around quickly - there's a huge missed opportunity here...

We did like our tree house room, but don't eat here and don't expect this to be as good as other 5* accommodation...very disappointing given our other culinary and hotel experiences in New Zealand....and it was the most expensive by far...

P.S. Eat in The Galley Restaurant in Manganui (North Island), Te Whau Vineyard Cafe in Waiheke Island and Bouterey's in Richmond/Nelson (Abel Tasman area) - all are FANTASTIC... REALLY fantastic.... and breakfast at "Verve" in Auckland (Parnell district) is the best we have ever had!

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Geoff and Jenni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2008

This is such a unique accomodation and the setting really is spectacluar. I loved being able to see the turquiose Pacific sea on one side of the treehouse and the snow capped mountains on the other side. We were staying in a lower branch treehouse which was very stylish indeed, with every mod-con you would expect from a high quality hotel. It was a short drive from the main centre of Kaikoura which was no problem for us having a hire car. The room was very comfortable and well equipped and luxurious. A lovely stay for 2 nights, we were able to totally relax and unwind here - perfect!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RinnaAdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
7.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
351 reviews
7.1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.1 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
6.4 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
8.2 mi away
The Fairways
The Fairways
#5 of 36 in Kaikoura
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hapuku Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hapuku Lodge

Address: State Highway 1 At Station Road, RD 1, Kaikoura 7371, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range: £478 - £936 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hapuku Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hapuku Lodge and Tree Houses is distinctive boutique luxury accommodation set on a deer farm and olive grove in one of the world's most beautiful locations, between the Kaikoura Mountains and the Pacific Coast of New Zealand's South Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hapuku Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hapuku Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing